The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyRailways beat Haryana 4-0 to Win Sr Women Nationals (A-Division)

23 March 2014: Railway Sports Promotion Board defeated the defending Champions Haryana by 4-0 in the finals of the 4th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2014 (Division A) to emerge champions, while Jharkhand defeated Punjab 5-0 to finish 3rd the in the championship.

Individual Awards:
Top Scorer Navneet Kaur, Haryana
Best Forward: Poonam Balra, Jharkhand
Best Defender Deepika Railway Sports Promotion Board
Best Goalkeeper Savite, Haryana
Best Player of the Tournament: Monika Haryana

Railways: Champions of 4th National Hockey Sr. Women National Championship (Division A)

Railways: Champions of 4th National Hockey Sr. Women National Championship (Division A)

Coming into the match as the favorite for the title, Haryana could not live upto the expectations and allowed the pressure to seep in. Taking advantage of this Railway Sports Promotion Board kept the attack on the opponents in the entire first session. Their consistency saw results in the 25th minute when experience Indian forward Vandana Katariya scored a field goal for the team. Just before going into the break Railways Sports Promotion Board scored their 2nd goal in the 34th minute when Captain TH Chanchan pounded the ball past the goalkeeper and converted a field goal. Going into the break Railway Sports Promotion Board  was leading 2-0.

In the second half while Haryana tried making a comeback but somehow failed to convert the chances they got. Railway on the other hand within 2 minutes into the second half scored their 3rd goal when Poonam Rani, who hails from Haryana, scored through a field goal. In the 42nd minute of the game Vanadana Katariya scored her 2nd goal and the 4th for the team, which Railway Sports Promotion Board being crowned as the new National Champions.

In a one-sided match Jharkhand ruled the entire session of the match playing for the 3rd position against Punjab. The team opened their score card when Poonam Balra scored through a field goal in the 8th minute. The team continued its attack during the rest of the session, but was unable to convert the chances that they got. Just before going into the break, Birsi Mundu in the 34th minute found the target and taking the team to a lead of 2-0.

The second session was no different and Jharkhand continued scoring and in the 40th minute Binita Xess scored the 3rd field goal of her team. Kabita Mourya scored 2 back to back goals in the 64th and 69th minute helping the team to take the win with a huge margin of 5-0. With this Jharkhand is placed in the 3rd position and Punjab in the 4th position.

Today’s Result
Bronze Medal match: Jharkhand 5  Poonam Balra (8 min), Birsi Mundu (34 min), Binita Xess (40 min), Kabita Mourya (64, 69 min) vs  Punjab 0

Finals : Railway Sports Promotion Board 4 Vandana Katariya (25, 42 min), TH. Chanchan (34 min) Poonam Rani (37 min) vs Haryana 0

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Railways beat Haryana 4-0 to Win Sr Women Nationals (A-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *