The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyHaryana: Jr Women National Champions for 3rd Consecutive Time

23 March 2014: Defending Champions Harayna retained the title by defeated Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 2-0 in final of the 4th Hockey India Jr. Women National Championship 2014 ( Division A ) at Chamundi vihar Astro turf Ground today. While Jharkhand defeated Odisha  to win bronze medal.

Best Goalkeepr Nisha N.N. (Karnataka)
Best Defender Rashmitha Minj (Odisha)
Best Mid Fielder Rajni Soreng (Jharkhand)
Best Forward Priyanka Wankhede (MP Hockey Academy)
Player of the Championship Jyoti Gupta (Haryana)

On the way to their consecutive third title, Harayna started the final by scoring just 8 minutes into the game when Narinder Kaur scored through a field goal. This was the only goal for the session as both the teams kept the attacking on each other and defending strongly in their halves during the entire half.

Going into the second half with 1-0 lead Haryana again started the session with a quick goal which came in the 40th minute. This time it was Neha Goyal the Captain who scored for her team. The two goals helped Harayna win the title championship and the team won the tournament in succession.

In the bronze medal match, Jharkhand defeated Hockey Odisha 3-1 via penalty shoot out to finish third in the championship. Jharkhand and Hockey Odisha both the teams showcased great strength by their attack as well as defense in the entire match. Both the teams failed to score any goal in the regulation time, after which match went to Penalty Shootout round.

While Jharkhand failed to convert the first two penalty shootout they finally came back in the game by scoring the past 3 shootout. It was Rajni Soreng, Kanti Pradhan and Sitamani Topno who finally went past the goalkeeper and sent the ball in the goal post giving them the much required win and 3rd position in the tournament. On the other hand Hockey Odisha were unable to keep their nerves and they failed to score in the 1st three shootouts. It was Sarojini Ekka who scored the lone goal in the shootout and which was not enough for the win.

Today’s Results:

BRONZE MEDAL MATCH- Jharkhand 3  Rajni Soreng, Kanti Pradhan and Sitamani Topno (Penalty Shootout) vs  Odisha 1 Sarojini Ekka

FINALS Haryana 2 Narinder Kaur (8 min, Neha Goyal (40 min) vs Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 0

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Haryana: Jr Women National Champions for 3rd Consecutive Time — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *