The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyHaryana-Railway face off for Sr Women Nationals Title (A-Division)

22nd March 2014: Defending Champions Haryana and Railway Sports Promotion Board prove their mettle in their respective semi-final matches to enter the finals of the 4th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2014 (Division A) to be played in Bhopal at Aish Bagh stadium tomorrow.

In the first semi-final, Haryana triumphed over Jharkhand with a handsome margin of 7-3. Though it was Jharkhand, who scored the first goal of the match and open their account in the 10th minute coming as a field goal through Poonam Barla, the Defending Champions Harayana reciprocated the favour within a minute when Manjit Kaur made no mistake in converting a penalty corner in the 11th minute itself. Followed by a field goal in the 13thminute coming from Navneet Kaur and in the 31st minute from Navjot Kaur, Haryana took over the game by 3-1. Jharkhand showed signs of a challenging battle when in the 33rd minute Poonam Barla again struck a goal for Jharkhand and reduced the margin to 3-2 by the end of the first half.

The opening goal in the second half again came from Jharkhand in the 38thminute through Binita Xess this time and leveled the score at 3-3, but the defending champions turned the tables and snatched away the control of the match from the 44th minute as they scored one goal after the other till the 67th minute and restricted Jharkhand from scoring. The four back to back goals from Haryana in helped putting a shine on the glorious 7-3 victory for the team.

In the second semi-final, the head strong Railway Sports Promotion Board embarked an easy win over Punjab with a massive 11-1 win. Captain TH. Chanchan of Railway Sports Promotion Board played a responsible and an impressive game and cashed on to a total of four goals to her credit making her the top scorer for the team, followed by Jasjeet Kaur, Poonam Rani and Anupa Barla who pocketed two goals each.

Gurjit Kaur was the lone scorer for team Punjab who converted a penalty corner in the 39th minute. The shower of goals coming from Railway Sports Promotion Board crushed Punjab with a load of 11 goals to 1 and stamped their way into the finals.

Catch the Live telecast of the final match between Haryana and Railway Sports Promtion Board on DD Sports at 5:30pm.

Today (22nd March)’s Result:

Semi-Final 1 Haryana 7 Navneet Kaur (13, 44 and 67 min), Manjit Kaur (11 min), Navjot Kaur (31 min) Ritu Rani (60 min) and Bharti (63 min) Vs. Jharkhand 3 Poonam Barla (10 and 33 min) and Binita Xess (38 min).

Semi-Final 2 Railway Sports Promotion Board 11  TH. Chanchan (47, 51, 58 and 59 min), Jasjeet Kaur (27 and 55 min), Poonam Rani (29 and 69 min), Anupa Barla (32 and 64 min) and Rani (31 min) Vs. Punjab 1 Gurjit Kaur (39 min).

Tomorrow (23rd March) Finals’ schedule:

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Haryana-Railway face off for Sr Women Nationals Title (A-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *