The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyHaryana, Jharkhand, Odisha & MPHA in final 4 at Mysore

20 March 2014: Haryana, Jharkhand, Odisha and Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy have confirmed their spots in the semi-finals of the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 (Division A) being played at Chamundi Vihar Hockey Ground today.

Goal mouth action in Odisha vs Mumbai match at the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 (A-Division) at Mysore

Goal mouth action in Odisha vs Mumbai match at the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 (A-Division) at Mysore

Haryana will meet Jharkhand and Hockey Odisha to fight Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy in the semi-finals this Saturday.

In Pool B match, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy registered their third consecutive win after beating Bhopal 4-0 and qualified to play the semi-finals. Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy’s Rakhi Prajapati damaged Bhopal’s confidence in the 9th minute of the game by successfully piercing in a field goal. Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy took the lead ahead with a 3-0 margin by the end of the first half when Captain Priyanka Wankhede and Suman Devi TH struck two field goals in a span of two minutes in the 20th and 21st minute, respectively.

The second half saw a better but dry fight as none of the teams could manage penetrating any goals until Preeti Dubey of Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy sneaked in a field goal just a minute before the game’s final hooter went off, in the 69th minute.

Learning from yesterday’s mistakes, Punjab flawlessly takes over Bihar by 8-0 in Pool D match. From the very start of the game, Punjab held Bihar and pushed them on their back foot as they sliced in seven goals starting from the 2nd minute of the game itself. Captain Rajbir Kaur of Punjab played a responsible game and banked a total of three goals to her credit in the first half of the match itself in the 9th, 13th and 33rd minute.

Punjab’s Ruchi Batta made the first blow as early as in the 2nd minute, immediately followed by another in the 4th minute by Sandeep Kaur and managed to spurt up the lead by 7-0 till the half time. The fumbling squad of Bihar managed a decent comeback in the second half where they allowed only one goal by Punjab in the 41st minute by Rajwinder but failed to do much in shortening the margin or put up a challenge. The final scores read Punjab’s 8-0 triumph over Bihar.

In a Pool D match, Hockey Odisha gave a tough time to Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd as they dominate the game for the entire 70 minutes of the game play. Hence, Hockey Odisha registered a comfortable 4-0 win over Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd to secure a berth in the semi-finals and battle it out with other semi-finalists for the finals. The first goal of the game came late in the 26th minute through Hockey Odisha’s Elima Minz followed by Sarojini Ekka’s field goal in the 34th minute which helped Hockey Odisha lead the chart with 2-0 by the end of the first half. Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd failed to stop Odisha’s advances in the second half also, as Domnica Kujur and Sarojini Ekka penetrated a goal each in the 45th and 63rd minute of the game and claimed the semi-final spot with a 4-0 victory.

Results of the day

POOL D – Punjab 8 Ruchi Batta (2 min), Sandeep Kaur (4 min), Rajbir Kaur (9, 13 and 33 min), Parmjit Kaur (22 min), Ranjana (33 min) and Rajwinder (41 min) Vs. Bihar 0.

Pool B – Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 4 Rakhi Prajapati (9 min), Priyanka Wankhede (20 min), Suman Devi TH (21 min) and Preeti Dubey (69 min) Vs. Bhopal 0.

Pool D – Hockey Odisha 4 Sarojini Ekka (34 and 63 min), Elima Minz (26 min) and Domnica Kujur (45 min) Vs. Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd 0.

Semi Final (22nd March) Schedule:



Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Haryana, Jharkhand, Odisha & MPHA in final 4 at Mysore — 2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *