The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyJharkhand & Haryana in Semis of Jr Women Nationals (A-Division)

17 March 2014: Jharkhand and Haryana confirmed their places in the semi-final of the 4th Hockey India Women National Championship 2014 (A-Division) being played in Mysore. Jharkhand defeated Maharashtra by 6-2, while Haryana thumped their neighbours Rajasthan by 14-0 to march into semis. In other matches of the Uttar Pradesh and SAI recorded easy wins but failed to qualify for semi-finals from Pool C and A respectively.

Haryana vs Rajasthan during the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 (A-Division) at Mysore

Haryana vs Rajasthan during the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 (A-Division) at Mysore

In their third match in the Pool C, Jharkhand took on Maharashtra and won it by 6-2. It was Nutanbela Tiru’s hat-trick goal which gave the momentum to the team to go for the kill. She struck her first goal in the 4th minute when the team got a penalty corner opportunity which she converted successfully. In the 12th minute the team got a penalty Strike which was taken by Nutanbela Tiru which she again pounded past the goalkeeper giving the team a 2-0 lead. Within six minutes and in the 18th minute she converted yet again through penalty corner. Ranjeeta Minz in the 21st minute scored another goal taking the tally to 4-0 in Jharkhand’s favor. Hockey Maharashtra scored its first goal in the 28th minute when Puja Shinde who scored through a Field Goal. Jharkhand struck again within a minute through Kanti Pradhan thereby increasing the goal margin further.

Going into the second half with 5-1 in the scorecard Jharkhand was high on motivation to continue its onslaught. But in the second half both the teams added just 1 goal each and hence the game ended with Jharkhand winning its 2nd win in the Pool group. Hockey Maharashtra post the loss also has 2 wins to its credit in the Pool Table. With this, both the teams qualified for the next round.

In another match of Pool C, Uttar Pradesh beat Bengal 9-0. The match started slow and at the end of first half Uttar Pradesh was leading the scoreboard with 1 goal to 0. Shreya Singh scored the lone goal of the session. In the second half the game picked up momentum when Uttar Pradesh went on complete attack and scored 8 goals during the session.

Sonal Tiwari struck early, in the 37th minute when she got a very good pass and she skillfully hit past the goal keeper. She scored another 2 goals in the 57th and 60th minute helping the team to an easy win. Shreya Singh added another 2 goals for the team in the 51st and 57th minute.

Continuing its dominance Haryana beat Rajasthan with a huge goal difference of 14-0. It was Reet who started the goal scoring session for Harayana in the 9th minute. She did not stop here and within four minutes she pounded another Field Goal past the goalkeeper taking the team to a 2-0 lead. Besides her 2 goals in the first half, Narinder Kaur even contributed to scores by hitting 2 goals in the 15th and 26th minute. By the end of the 1st half team Harayana was leading the game by 8-0.

Coming into the 2nd half the team further put the opponents on the backfoot by adding the 9th goal in the 37th minute and it was Jyoti Gupta who scored it through a Field Goal. Reet continued her form in the second half by scoring another 2 Field Goals in the 43rd and 69th minute. In total she had 4 goals in her name and the team closed the match with 14-0 on the score board. With this win Harayana ends its Pool matches at the top of the points table and moves on to semi-finals.

Sports Authory of India in its match against Tamil Nadu beat them 7-0. Manisha 4 back to back goals in the second half which includes a hat-trick, helped the team take an easy win over the opponents. While Anjali Gautam gave the team the lead in the 1st half by scoring 2 goals back to back goals in the 6th and 8th minute.

Today (17th March)’s Result:

Pool C- Jharkhand 6  Nutanbela Tiru (4, 12, 18 min), Ranjeeta Minz (21 min), Kanti Pradhan (29 min) and Nomita Xalxo (50 min) vs  Maharashtra 2 Puja Dhinde (28 min), Priyanka Patil (50 min).

Pool C- Uttar Pradesh 9 Shreya Singh (17, 51, 55 min), Sonal Tiwari  (37, 57, 60 min) Chand Khan (49 min), Sonam (59 min), Priyanka Gautam (67 min) vs Bengal Hockey Association 0.

Pool A Harayana 14 Reet (9, 13, 43, 69 min), Neha Goyal (14, 41 min), Narinder Kaur (15, 26 min), Jyoti Gupta (24, 37, 41 min), Hardeep Kaur (30, 63 min), Devika sen (32 min) vs Rajasthan 0

Pool A Sports Authority of India 7 Manisha (45, 50, 64, 69 min), (Anjali Gautam 6, 8 min), Sangeeta Rose Kullu (37 min) Tamil Nadu 0

Tomorrow (18th March)’s Schedule:

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Jharkhand & Haryana in Semis of Jr Women Nationals (A-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *