The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyChhattisgarh won Jr Women Nationals (B-Division)

13 March 2014: Chhattisgarh outclassed Kerala by 6-1 in the finals of the 4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship (B-Division) to emerge champions at the Astro-turf of Chamundi Vihar grounds in Mysore, while Hockey Gangpur-Odisha finished 3rd with a 2-0 victory against Manipur.

Chhattisgarh: Champions of4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship (B-Division)

Chhattisgarh: Champions of4th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship (B-Division)

Sadhna Sengar who opened the account in the sixth minute gave the much needed lead. In 13th minute Renu Yadav dodged the defence wall of Kerala and scored the second goal. Upsana Singh who played an instrumental role in the game, scored the third goal for Chhattisgarh which extended the lead.

Barely a minute before the first half, ace player of Kerala Sindhu M R scored a goal which showed the signs of posting challenge in the second half but it failed to take the desired shape. Where Chhattisgarh who were brilliant in their passes helped them to hold control over the match, Kerala lacked in doing the same and lost the match by 6-1.

On the team’s exciting win, Chhattisgarh’s Coach Inder Pal Singh said, “We wanted to play attacking hockey today and we did the same. Our players were good in the co-ordination and as game went on we were successful to build the pressure on the opponents. I am happy that the team sustained the momentum till the end which helped them to gain huge gap in their win. There were slight finishing mistakes but it did not matter much as we were leading the goal table.”

Debutants Hockey Gangpur-Odisha finished at the third position by winning 2-0 in the bronze medal match against Manipur.

Rinki Kujur, the captain of the winning team opened the account by scoring the very first goal for the team in the 2nd minute of the match by converting the penalty corner followed by Laxmi Ekka’s field goal in the 28th minute. On the other hand, Manipur kept struggling hard to score a goal throughout the game but failed to taste success regardless of repeated efforts. It proved to be a one-sided game with a lumbering performance by Manipur which cost them the match by 2-0 to Gangpur-Odisha.

Results of the day (13th March):

Final – Chhattisgarh 6 Ishika Chaudhary (44th and 62nd min), Sadhna Sengar (6th min), Renu Yadav (13th min), Upasana Singh (27th min) and Ishika Thakur (63rd min) Vs Kerala 1 Sindhu M R (34th min)

Hard Line – Gangpur-Odisha 2 Rinki Kujur (2nd min) and Laxmi Ekka (28th min) Vs Manipur 0.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Chhattisgarh won Jr Women Nationals (B-Division) — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *