The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyNamdhari XI starts Sr Nationals Campaign with big Win

7 March 2014: Namdhari XI, Bihar, Mumbai and Uttarakhand won their respective matches on the day-9 of the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2014 (Division B) being played at Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium in Lucknow.

Tyron Pereira of Mumbai scoring past Goa Goalie during the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship

Tyron Pereira of Mumbai scoring past Goa Goalie during the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship

In Pool A, Namdhari XI registered an easy win against Gujarat by leaving them behind with a score of 9-0 on board. Namdhari XI claimed their first win in their very first match of the pool leaving Gujarat with yet another loss. Namdhari XI went all out from the very beginning of the match, where Bhagat Singh Dhillon scored two goals at 5th and the 15th minute of the game by converting both the penalty corners followed by the field goals by Santa Singh at 27thminute and Captain Kuldeep Singh at 29th minute taking the score to 4-0 in the first half of the game.

The second half the game saw Namdhari XI scoring another 5 goals where Udham Preet Singh scored two goals at 37th and 54th minute and Avtar Singh, Mehkeet Singh and Gurjant Singh scored a goal each at 50th, 54th and 68th minute of the game, winning it by 9-0.

In another match, Bihar scooped away the match from Rajasthan by 4-2 in Pool A. The match saw Bihar dominating the first half of the match with a 3-1 lead whereas the second half the match saw a decent struggle from both the teams. Nevertheless, Bihar got a chance to strike another goal and took the total to 4 goals and Rajasthan was held at only 2 goals to their credit. Bihar’s Sankalp Raghav converted two penalty corners at 12th and 21st minute of the game and another two field goals were stroked in by Naveen Minz and Bhim Kumar at 23rd minute and 54th minute respectively. On the other hand, Rajasthan’s Ankit Kushwah and Amit Yadav could only score field goal each for their team at 13th and 59th minute and failed to take over Bihar.

In the first match of Pool B played today, Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd registered a comprehensive win over Goa with a difference of 13 goals to 0. The Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd squad was their best in their first of the pool matches and stormed past Goa in a blink, leaving them with yet another defeat after yesterday against Uttarakhand.

A total of 7 players registered themselves on score sheet in Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd’s blistering win today, out of which Manprit Singh Chahal scored four goals at 11th, 28th, 61st and 62nd minute and Harjit Singh scored three goals at 33rd, 56th and 63rd minute, followed by Ambika Pratap Singh who scored two goals at 50th and 63rd minute.

The score 13-0 is on the top of the charts followed by 11-1 (Puducherry against Bengal) and 10-0 (Gangpur-Odisha against Assam). Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd has set the level of the game high and probably will be the most feared team in the tournament now.

Uttarakhand defeated Jammu & Kashmir 5-3 to register their second consecutive win in their Pool B league match. Prakash Mehra scored twice each and Amit Aswal, Manoj Tamta and Vijay Pal contributed a goal each in Uttarakhand’s win. Amrinder Singh, Sunil Kalsotra and Amarjeet Singh scored a goal each for Jammu & Kashmir

Today (7th March)’s Result

Pool A- Namdhari XI 9  Bhagat Singh Dhillon (5th and 15thmin), Santa Singh (27th min), Kuldeep Singh (29th min), Udham Preet Singh (37th min), Avtaar Singh (50th min), Hartaj Singh Aujla (53rd min), Mehkeet Singh (54th min) and Gurjant Singh (68th min) vs Gujarat 0

Pool A Bihar 4 Sankalp Raghav (12th and 21st min), Naveenminz (23rd min) and Bhim Kumar (54th min) vs.Rajasthan 2 Ankit Kushwah (13th min) and Amit Yadav (59th min).

Pool B- Mumbai 13 Manprit Singh Chahal (11th, 28th, 61stand 62nd min), Harjit Singh (33rd, 56th and 63rd min), Ambika Pratap Singh (50th and 67th min), Nitin Kumar Nandanoori (13th min), Sajit Lakra (26th min), Tyron Pereira (31st min) and Amit Goswami (64th min) vs Goa 0.

Pool B- Uttarakhand 5 Amit Aswal(18th min), Prakash Mehra (23rd and 44th min), Manoj Tamta (46th min), Vijay Pal (49th min) vs Jammu & Kashmir 3 Amrinder Singh (8thmin), Sunil Kalsotra (22nd min) and Amarjeet Singh (69th min)

Tomorrow (8th March)’s schedule:

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Namdhari XI starts Sr Nationals Campaign with big Win — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *