The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyBihar, UK, SSB and HP start Hockey Nationals on Winning Note

Bihar, Uttarakhand, Sashastra Seema Bal and Himachal Pradesh from Pool A and B started their 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2014 (Division B) campaign on winning note at Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium in Lucknow.

Action during SSB vs Rajasthan match at the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship

Action during Sashastra Seema Bal vs Rajasthan match at the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship

The first match played between Bihar and Gujarat witnessed Bihar going all out from the very start. Though, Gujarat’s Krushsingh Zala scored the very first goal of the game at the 9th minute, it was Bihar’s Md Reyazuddin, Naveen Minz and Mangra Bhengra who in return scored at the 11th, 14th and 21st minute respectively, to take the lead by 3-1 in the first half of the match. Gujarat played a defensive game in the second half of the game but couldn’t stop Bihar’s Naveen Minz from scoring another goal at 40th minute and wrapping the game at 4 goals to 1.

In another match, Uttarakhand gave an even better fight to Goa by simply not allowing them to score even a single goal. Prakash Mehra scored two goals for Uttarakhand at 23rd minute as a field goal and converted a penalty corner at the 49th minute. Captain Maheshwar Negi of Uttarakhand also scored a field goal at 28th minute and Kailash Jalal helped in taking the lead against Goa by 4-0 when he got a clear shot at penalty strike at the 56th minute of the match.

In the third match of the day, a tough competition was evident between Sashastra Seema Bal and Rajasthan. Rajasthan took in the lead with 1-0 in first half with the help of Purshotam Bagdi’s penalty corner shot at the 22nd minute of the match. In reply to their opponents, Sashastra Seema Bal made a perfect come back in the second half of the match and took away the match from Rajasthan and won the game by 2-1. H. Surachandra Singh of Sashastra Seema Bal proved to be a ‘one-man-show’ as he scored both the field goals for his team at 41st and 65th minute of the game and drove the team for an exciting victory over Rajasthan.

The last match of the day, played between Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir saw a neck-to-neck fight, where Himachal Pradesh dominated the first half of the game by 1-0 with the help of Sanwar Ali’s field goal at the 34th minute. Jammu & Kashmir made a good comeback and leveled it at 1-1 with Amrinder Singh’s field goal at the 41st minute. The game turned around back in favour of Himachal Pradesh when Rajesh Kumar converted the penalty corner in a goal when got a chance at the 46th minute. Hence, the penalty corner in favour of Himachal Pradesh helped them claim their win over Jammu & Kashmir.

Today (6th March)’s Result

Pool A- Bihar 4 Md Reyazuddin (11th min), Naveenminz (14th & 40th min) and Mangra Bhengra (21st min) vs Gujarat 1 Krushsingh Zala (9th min).

Pool B Uttarakhand 4 Prakash Mehra (23rd & 49th min), Maheshwar Negi (28th min) and Kailash Jalal (56th min) vs. Goa 0.

Pool A- Sashastra Seema Bal 2 H. Surachandra Singh (41st & 65th minute) vs Rajasthan 1 Purshotam Bagdi (22nd minute).

Pool B- Himachal Pradesh 2 Sanwar ali (34th min) and Rajesh Kumar (46th min) vs Jammu & Kashmir 1 Amrinder Singh (41st min)

Tomorrow (7th March)’s schedule

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Bihar, UK, SSB and HP start Hockey Nationals on Winning Note — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *