The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyJunior Women’s Hockey National Championship Gets Underway at Mysore

5th March 2014: The 4th edition of the Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2014 underway in Mysore, Karnataka and will conclude on 23rd March 2014.

The tournament will see 32 teams competing in two phases i.e. 16 teams in each of the Division A and B. The Division B of the championship started today i.e. 5th March and will conclude on 13 March 2014 while Division A will be played from 15- 23 March 2014.

This edition will see two new teams including Hockey Gangpur- Odisha and Vidarbha Hockey Association at the newly laid Astro Turf at Chamundi Stadium, Nazarabad, Mysore.

After a heavy rain on Tuesday, it was Manipur women, who rained 24 goals against Tripura. For Manipur it was Sarita Devi who led from the front and the scored as many as nine goals in a Pool A match on the first of the tournament.

From the very first minute of the game, the Manipur women took control over the game. Tripura defence was not in a position to control the attack of the opponents. Gitrani Devi started the account at the second minute of the game and it was followed by the penalty corner which was converted into goal by Sarita Devi. In the 7th minute it was again Sarita Devi who scored another goal through a penalty corner. Sonia Devi came back strong in the 9th minute and thorugh a smart penetration managed to get the ball through goal keeper Nancy Agarwal. In the 12th minute and 17th minute Sarita Devi scored back to back goals. In the 20th minute and 22nd it was Bidyarani Devi and Captain Geetharani Devi who added to the tally of goals. This was followed by an amazing goal in the very same minute which was converted by Bidya. The Manipur team had an excellent co-ordination amongst each other which helped them to keep the attack on the opponents. At half time by reaching the team managed to score 13 goals to 0.

In the second half, the story was no different for the spectators. Sarita Devi, who continued her goal scoring spree on the opponents, was getting difficult to stop by the minute. Besides her it was even, Rojita Devi who scored four goals in matter of eight minutes (39th, 41st, 45th & 47th min). The convincing win gives Manipur three points on the points table.

In another match of Pool A, Uttarakhand took on Vidarbha Hockey Association and won the match convincingly 7-0. The attack by the former started in the very first minute and it took them only 4 minutes to convert the first chance that they got and this was scored by Pooja Bhatt. Uttarakhand did not stop there and continued their attack and scored the second goal in the 11th minute by Karishma Nayak. The team continued putting pressure on the players of Vidarbha Hockey Association and before the end of first half they has successfully scored 4 goals and not allowing the opponents to score a single one. In the second half the team came back strong but Vidarbha Hockey Association warded the attack well but they still could not stop Uttarakhand to add another 3 goals to the final tally of 7. Captain Anita Maletha added 2 goals within 6 minutes in the first half and the same was scored in the 27th and 33rd minute.

Anita Maletha, Pooja Bhatt and Karishma Nayak scored 2 goals each helping their team to have a convincing win in their first match of the tournament.

Earlier in the morning, Chattisgarh Hockey won the match by walk over as Himachal Pradesh team didn’t turn up for the tournament. In the same way, Goans hockey was given walk over win as Hockey Mizoram failed to register their presence.

Today (5th March)’s Results:

Pool A Manipur 24 Sarita Devi (4, 12, 17, 30, 31, 36, 51, 58, 66 min), Gitarani Devi (2, 7, 22, 27, 32 min), Bidyarani (20, 22, 57 min), Rojita Devi (35, 41, 45, 47 min), Sonia Devi (9 min), Chaoba Chanu (49, 65 min) vs Tripura 0

Pool A Uttarakhand 7 Pooja Bhatt (4, 50 min), Karishma Nayak (11, 61 min), Anita Maletha (27, 33 min), Mamta Bhatt (43 min) vs Vidarbha Hockey Association 0

Tomorrow’s schedule

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Junior Women’s Hockey National Championship Gets Underway at Mysore — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *