The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsYoung faces in Indian Team for Hero Hockey World League Final

New Delhi, 8 January 2014: Indian Men Hockey team is announced for the forthcoming Hero Hockey World League Final Delhi 2014 to be played at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi from 10-18 January 2014.

Affan Yousuf

Affan Yousuf

Mid-fielder Sardar Singh, who has 174 international caps, will lead the team and Goalkeeper P R Sreejesh (88 International Matches) will be the vice-captain of the 18 member squad, which includes young players like Harjot Singh (Goalkeeper), Affan Yousuf.

Affan was in stand-bys for Hero Hockey Junior World Cup 2013, where India finished at 10 place, while Harjot Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh, Manpreet Singh and Mandeep Singh were part of the Indian Junior Men’s Team for the world cup. Danish Mujtaba, who was called for the camp after a surgery, is not included while Yuvraj Walmiki is recalled in the team after staying wilderness for more than a year.

Speaking on the team for Hero Hockey World League Final Hockey India Secretary General Dr. Narinder Batra said “it’s a great opportunity for every player to be playing this tournament. This will prove to be an ideal platform which is right before the World Cup, Commonwealth Games and Asian Games. Also this will be a big platform for young players in the team”.

Hockey India also announced complimentary tickets for the Former hockey Olympians and international players to witness the matches of the Hero Hockey World League Final. All former hockey Olympians and international players can contact former Captain Ajit Pal Singh and Dr. R P Singh, Selector Hockey India to request their tickets.

The Indian Squad of the 18 players for Hero Hockey World League is as following:
Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (Vice-Captain), Harjot Singh
Defenders: Birendra Lakra, Rupinder Pal Singh, V R Raghunath, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Amit Rohidas
Midfielders: Sardar Singh (Captain), S K Uthappa, Dharamvir Singh, Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, M B Aiyappa
Forwards: Nikkin Thimmaiah, S V Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Affan Yousuf, Yuvraj Walmiki

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Young faces in Indian Team for Hero Hockey World League Final — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *