The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyBPCL and IOC Register Wins in Surjit Hockey Tournament 2013

Jalandhar Oct 13 : Riding on Gurpreet Singh’s Hat-trick Bharat Petroleum defeated Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd while Indian Oil defeated Punjab Police in the 30th IndianOil Surjit Hockey Tournament at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium, Burlton Park here.

Hari Prasad of BPCL during the match against PSPCL in Surjit Hockey Tournament 2013 (Courtesy: Surjit Hockey Society)

Hari Prasad of BPCL during the match against PSPCL in Surjit Hockey Tournament 2013 (Courtesy: Surjit Hockey Society)

In the first match of the day, runners-up of last edition BPCL defeated PSPCL by 6-1 in Pool ‘D’ match whereas defending champions IndianOil beat Punjab Police by 3-1 in Pool ‘A’, in the mean while, Punjab XI, Pakstani Women hockey team arrived in Jalandhar today, who will play their Indian counterpart Punjab XI (India) in a three test match series on 14, 15 and 17 October during the tournament.

In the first match of the day, between last years’ runners up Bharat Petroleum, Mumbai  and Punjab State Power Corporation, (PSPCL) Patiala, experienced BPCL played attacking hockey right from the word ‘Go’. They earned their first penalty corner in the 8th minute of the game but their full back Ajay Sahoha missed the target. Oilmen got the lead in the 13 minute when their  forward Tushar Khandekar scored excellent goal by solo effort, after dodging past three defenders of the powermen. (1-0). After taking lead, oilmen did not stop their attacks on the rival defense and earned 6 more penalty corners but PSPCL custodian and deep defenders stood firm. At half time, BPCL were leading by 1-0.

After the change of end, the Bharat Petroleum’s forwards started their attacks from the left flank and managed get the 8th penalty corner in the 37th minute, which was converted by Sher Singh to increase the lead. (2-0). In the 47th minute, inside right of oilmen Ravi Pal received a parallel pass outside the striking circle, who dodged past two defenders of the PSPCL to find the target(3-0). After trailing by 3 goals, powermen made some good attacks on the oilmen defense. In the 53rd minute of the game, right out Rupinder Singh reduced the margin who scored a beautiful field goal (1-3) but their joy was short-lived as BPCL again managed to increase the lead in very next minute through their centre half Gurpeet Singh (4-1). In the 62 minute of the game, umpire Varinder Kumar awarded a penalty stroke in favor of Bharat Petroleum when their right-in Ravi Kumar was intentionally blocked by the rival custodian Gurpreet Singh of PSPCL which was converted by Gurpreet Singh of BPCL. In the 62nd and 64nd minute of the game, Gurpreet Singh again scored 2 goals in a row and completed the tally (6-1)

In the second match of the day was played between defending champions Indian Oil and young & spirited former champion Punjab Police. In a well fought first half both the teams failed to score.

After the lemon break, IOCL earned their first panalty corner in the 36th minute of the game and Sunil Yadav found the target to take lead. After trailing by a goal. Policemen started planned attack and managed to equalize the score in the 43rd minute when Rajpal Singh converted the penalty corner into goal (1-1). In 64th minute of the game, Oilmen got their 5th penalty corner and this time Harman Preet Singh sounded the board to take lead once again (2-1). In the 67th minute, Olympian Deepak Thakur scored a field goal for Indian Oil to complete the tally (3-1).

14th October’s Fixtures in Surjit Hockey 2013:
Indian Oil vs Indian Air Force – 4:15 PM
Mumbai XI vs Army XI – 6:00 PM

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


BPCL and IOC Register Wins in Surjit Hockey Tournament 2013 — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *