The Fans of HockeyNewsWomen's HockeyJapan and USA Women Go to the Hague

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed that the women’s national hockey teams of Japan and USA have qualified for next year’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands after the completion of Women’s Asia Cup in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) and Pan American Cup in Mendoza (Argentina).

Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014, the Hague (Netherlands) from 31st May to 15th June 2014Like all of the continental championships, the big prize on offer both at the Asian and Pan American Cups was direct qualification for next year’s showpiece event at The Hague’s hugely impressive 15,000-seat Kyocera Stadium. Japan grabbed that opportunity with both hands on Friday (27 September), defeating Korea in the tournament final to become Asian champions and seal their World Cup ticket.

USA’s attempt to win the Pan American continental championship ended in a final defeat at the hands of reigning world champions Argentina. However, with Argentina having already secured World Cup qualification thanks to a 3rd place finish at the recent Investec Hockey World League Semi Final in London (ENG), the door was then opened to the teams that finished outside the top three at the HWL Semi-Finals that had not yet qualified for the World Cup. With first reserves China and second reserves Japan having already achieved qualification for the Hague, the place was immediately handed to third reserves USA.

Japan and USA become the ninth and tenth women’s teams to qualify the 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup, with two more places up for grabs at the Oceania and African continental championships. The men’s and women’s Africa Cup of Nations tournament was scheduled to take place this week in Nairobi, but has been postponed due to the tragic events surrounding the terrorist incident in the Kenyan capital.

More information about the women’s World Cup qualifiers and the qualifying process can be found below.

Rabobank Hockey World Cup – Women’s Qualifiers.

Netherlands: Hosts
Germany:  Continental Champions Europe
Japan: Continental Champions Asia
Australia: 1st place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
England: 2nd place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
Argentina:  3rd place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
Korea: 3rd place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
New Zealand: 4th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) *
China: 4th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) **
USA: 5th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) ***

* Netherlands finished second in the Hockey World League Semi-Final event in Rotterdam.  As they are already pre-qualified as the host, this means that the highest ranked fourth place finisher from both Semi-Final events earns direct qualification to the Rabobank Hockey World Cup. This place goes to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and currently sit third in the FIH World Rankings.
** China qualified as first reserve courtesy of Germany’s victory in the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships.
*** With second reserves Japan and the already qualified Argentina winning the respective continental championships in Asia and Pan America, the World Cup ticket was handed to third reserves USA.

World Cup Qualification – The Next Stage
The remaining places at the Rabobank Hockey World Cup for men will be filled by the winners of the final two continental championships. However, if any of the above listed teams also becomes continental champion it will open the door to the team that finished outside the top three at the Hockey World League Semi-Finals that has not yet qualified for the World Cup. This team can be found below.

Belgium: 6th in Rotterdam / 4th reserve for World Cup


Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Japan and USA Women Go to the Hague — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *