The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyIndian Oil Won 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup 2013

Chennai, 22 September 2013: Indian Oil Corporation (IOCL) defeated Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) 6-4 to win the 88th MCC Murugappa Hockey Tournament at Mayor Radhakrishnan Hockey Stadium in Egmore, Chennai.

Indian Oil Corporation (IOCL): The Champions of 88th All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament 2013, Chennai

Indian Oil Corporation (IOCL): The Champions of 88th All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament 2013, Chennai

In the final between IOCL and IOB, the first half saw the co-champions of last edition, stacking up goals. After the half-time break, Indian Overseas Bank fought back to score 4 goals. But IOC (which was the joint winner last year) consolidated its dominance of the match, to emerge the Champions of this 88th edition of the tournament.

Indian Star forwards Deepak Thakur and Prabhjot Singh scored 3 goals each for Indian Oil, the champions, while Rupinder Pal scored brace for IOB as Amandeep and Rafeeq were on target once each to reduce the deficit to 6-4.

The duo of Prabhjot and Deepak rose to occasion, and troubled the defending line of IOB on various occasions, with the support from mid-fielders, as the crowd cheered for every tackle by the bankers. Though the bankers, backed by size-able crowd, were able to control the game for few periods in 2nd half, but IOCL persisted and scored 2 more goals in second half in addition 4 in first half to win the title.

The winners take home the prize money of Rs. 2,50,000/- , and the runner-up received Rs.1,50,000/-.

The following awards were given away as special recognition for the top performing players:
Best player of the tournament: Raghunath VR – IOCL
Best forward: Deepak Thakur- IOCL
Best mid-fielder: Dharamvir Singh -IOCL
Best defender: Birender Lakhra – BPCL
Player of the Match (Final) Prabhjot Singh -IOCL

Veteran Hockey Umpire and International Official Mr. PV Pandarinathan was given the ‘MCC Murugappa Hockey Honourarium’ for the long years of exemplary services rendered by him to the sport of Hockey. During the course of the tournament, a special coaching camp was also conducted for select school students interested in hockey. 25 boys and girls learnt the intricacies of the game from stars Birender Lakhra, Raghunath and Mohammad Riyaz.

Mr.Mohamed Muneer officiated as the Tournament Director and was assisted by a team of outstation and local officials.

The Final match was a well-attended affair, with Mr. A Vellayan, Executive Chairman Murugappa Group, Mr. MM Murugappan, Vice Chairman Murugappa Group, office-bearers and members of Madras Cricket Club, and hockey aficionados cheering the teams from the stands.

About Madras Cricket Club: The Madras Cricket Club is one of the premier sports institutions in the country, which organizes major national level tournaments in the disciplines of Tennis, Squash, Cricket, Badminton, Billiards and Hockey.

About MCC – Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament: Originally started as the Madras Challenge Cup in 1901 and later named the A.M.M Arunachalam Challenge Cup after the first Indian President of Madras Cricket Club, this is the 88th edition of the tournament which along with Murugappa group in the mid 90’s was named MCC – Murugappa Gold Cup. From the early days, this tournament has been the premier hockey event in South India and one of the major competitions in the country attracting the top teams and talent. This tournament has been keenly observed by coaches and administrators for picking talent to represent the country. We are proud as the Madras Cricket Club to be associated with this tournament and be the only sporting Club in India to conduct an event of such magnitude.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Indian Oil Won 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup 2013 — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *