The Fans of HockeyDomestic Hockey88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament Started

12 Sept, 2013: The 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament got underway today at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium, Egmore, Chennai, with Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) and Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) defeating South Central Railways (SCR) and Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) respectively.

Amar Aiyamma scored goal for BPCL

Amar Aiyamma scored a goal for BPCL

Tomorrow (13th September) IOCL will take on CAG at 2:15 PM in Pool A game, Air India face Indian Bank in Pool B game at 4:00PM and the day concludes with Army XI vs IOB game in Pool A at 5:45PM under floodlights.

IOB defeated SCR 6-3 in the first match of the tournament with help of a brace each from V Shanmugam and Vinod Rayaer and a goal each from Adam Sinclair and MK Muddappa, while SCR scored via Anmol Minz, Manjeet Kullu and Suresh Toppo. Gurpreet Singh found target twice while Amar Aiyamma added one more to make it 3-0 for BPCL against SAIL in the opening game of Pool B.

A total 10 participating teams are divided in 2 pools as following:
POOL A: Indian Oil Corporation (IOCL), South Central Railways (SCR), Army XI, Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG), Indian Overseas Bank (IOB).

POOL B: Air India, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Punjab National Bank (PNB), Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL), Indian Bank.

Air India & IOC (joint winners of 2012) will be defending their title. The tournament will be played on a league cum knock-out basis. Top 2 teams from each pool will qualify for semi-finals to be played on 21st September 2013. The Finals will be played on the 22nd of September under floodlights. One match will be played under floodlights on all days.

Prize money for the tournament remains at Rs.2,50,000/- for Winners and Rs.1,50,000/- for Runners-up. There will be prizes from the semi-finals stage for the man of the match for each game and special prizes for the best player of the tournament, the best forward, the best goal keeper and the most promising player of the tournament.

Mr.Mohamed Muneer is officiating as the Tournament Director, who is assisted by a team of outstation and local officials.

About MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament:

The Madras Cricket Club is one of the premier sports institutions in the country, which organizes major national level tournaments in the disciplines of Tennis, Squash, Cricket, Badminton, Billiards and Hockey.

Originally started as the Madras Challenge Cup in 1901 and later named the A.M.M Arunachalam Challenge Cup after the first Indian President of Madras Cricket Club, this is the 88th edition of the tournament which along with Murugappa group in the mid 90’s was named MCC – Murugappa Gold Cup. From the early days, this tournament has been the premier hockey event in South India and one of the major competitions in the country attracting the top teams and talent. This tournament has been keenly observed by coaches and administrators for picking talent to represent the country. We are proud as the Madras Cricket Club to be associated with this tournament and be the only sporting Club in India to conduct an event of such magnitude.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament Started — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *