The Fans of HockeyEventsAsia CupNikkin and Raman to Debut for India in Asia Cup 2013

11th Aug, 2013: Indian men’s hockey team was announced today for the 9th Men’s Asia Cup 2013 to played at Ipoh, Malaysia from 24 August to 1 September 2013. The winner of Asia Cup will qualify for the World Cup 2014 to held at the Hague, Netherlands.

Indian Men's Hockey Team Asia Cup 2013

Indian Men’s Hockey Team Asia Cup 2013

The 18 member squad, which will have two debutant in Ramandeep Singh and Nikin Thimmaiah, will be captained by midfielder Sardar Singh while goalkeeper P R Sreejesh will be the Vice-Captain.

In addition to talented youngsters Ramandeep and Nikkin, who were out of favor after they played for Chandigarh Comets and Pune Strykers respectively in World Series Hockey, Nithin, Mandeep and Malak will complete the attacking line of India. Since Danish Mujtaba, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, SV Sunil and Akashdeep Singh with miss the tournament due to injuries.

Amit Rohidas, who has played 6 matches for senior Indian team, will replace Harbir Singh in defence and S K Uthappa will also return to team as mid-fielder.

India is placed in Pool B with Korea, Bangladesh and Oman while Pakistan, Malaysia, Japan and Chinese-Taipei are placed in Pool A. India will open its campaign against Oman on 24 August 2013 followed by Korea on 26 August and Bangladesh on 28 August.

There will be a live telecast of all the matches of Asia Cup on ESPN Star Sports.

Indian Squad for 9th Men’s Asia Cup is as following:
Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (vice-captain), PT Rao
Defenders: VR Raghunath, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra, Gurmail Singh.
Midfielders: Sardar Singh (captain), Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Dharamvir Singh, SK Uthappa.
Forwards: Ramandeep Singh, Nithin Thimmaiah, Mandeep Singh, Malak Singh, Nikin Thimmaiah.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Nikkin and Raman to Debut for India in Asia Cup 2013 — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *