The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsSmith names Electric Ireland Irish Women’s Squad for EuroHockey Championship

Electric Ireland Irish Women’s Coach Darren Smith has today named his squad for this summer’s TriFinance EuroHockey Championships 2013 from August 17th – 25th in Belgium.

The Irish coach has selected his panel following review of the Electric Ireland Irish Senior Squad recent extensive International series vs. Canada, Wales & Scotland in which 27 players were involved. Ireland are in Pool A at the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships where they will face The Netherlands, Belarus & hosts Belgium.

Smith’s squad selection includes 200 & 150 times capped Nikki Symmons & Shirley McCay, both of whom recently reached their significant milestones during a hectic summer schedule and will provide experience of top level competition to the squad. Niamh Atcheler is Smith’s only selection that is not 100% confirmed as the UCD woman faces a fitness test in late July before confirming her place in the squad. Railway Union pair Alex Speers & Emma Smyth will operate as Captain & Vice Captain respectively for the tournament.

Speaking to Smith said “It has been a very difficult decision to reduce the squad down to 18 for the tournament. The 27 players that have been with the squad through the training camps & test series in Dublin, Newtownabbey and Cork have worked extremely hard over the last month. After much deliberation we finalised a squad that we now look forward to seeing play against the best in Europe next month. Although the team has been named we have asked that the players not selected for Europeans continue on with the squad in preparation for our ultimate goal which is the World League competition leading into Rio 2016. You can bet that some of the players who have been left out this time will feature strongly in the future as they bounce back and improve.”

Electric Ireland Irish Senior Women’s team
Niamh Atcheler (UCD)*
Naomi Carroll (Catholic Institute)
Lizzie Colvin (Loreto)
Nicci Daly (Loreto)
Megan Frazer (Ballymoney)
Emma Gray (Hermes)
Nicola Gray (UCD)
Lisa Jacob (Hermes)
Shirley McCay (Old Alex)
Anna O’Flanagan (UCD)
Grace O’Flanagan (Railway Union)
Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)
Gillian Pinder (Hermes)
Niamh Small (Loreto)
Emma Smyth (Railway Union) – Vice Captain
Alex Speers (Railway Union) – Captain
Nikki Symmons (Loreto)
Chloe Watkins (UCD)

*subject to fitness test in late July

Pool A Fixtures
17th August 2013 Ireland v Holland (18:00 local time)
18th August 2013 Ireland v Belarus (16:00 local time)
20th August 2013 Ireland v Belgium (18:00 local time)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Smith names Electric Ireland Irish Women’s Squad for EuroHockey Championship — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *