The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsKookaburras’ 18 Known for Hockey World League at Rotterdam

Hockey Australia has submitted its final 18-athlete Kookaburras squad for the Rabobank Hockey World League in Rotterdam.  The newest tournament in the international hockey calendar, the Hockey World League is Australia’s first opportunity to qualify for the 2014 World Cup, where they will be looking to defend their title.

Hockey Australia LogoA 20-strong group has been preparing for the tournament with a European tour encompassing warm-up fixtures against the Netherlands and Belgium. But with competition regulations requiring teams to nominate a squad of 18, Queenslander Jake Whetton and Aran Zalewski of WA are the unfortunate pair missing out on selection.

The Kookaburras’ campaign begins tonight, Friday, at 7pm Eastern time, when they take on Belgium in their opening match. Their second game, against Spain, takes place at 7:30pm Eastern time on Saturday before the pool phase wraps up on Monday with a match against France (8:30pm Eastern time).

Every Kookaburras match will be streamed live via YouTube. Find the streaming at Highlights of the matches will also be available.

Kookaburras Fixtures at Rotterdam (Full Schedule):
Friday 14 June – 7pm AEST – Kookaburras v Belgium
Saturday 15 June – 7:30pm AEST – Kookaburras v Spain
Monday 17 June – 8:30pm AEST – Kookaburras v France
Wednesday 19 June – tbc – Quarter-finals
Friday 21 June – tbc – Semi-finals/classification
Sunday 23 June – tbc – Medal matches/classification

Kookaburras Squad for Rabobank Hockey World League
Rotterdam, Netherlands, 13-23 June 2013

Name (Hometown, State) Caps/Goals (updated)
Kiel Brown (Perth, WA) 132/3
Joel Carroll (Darwin, NT) 84/2
Andrew Charter (GK) (Canberra, ACT) 43/0
Chris Ciriello (Melbourne, VIC) 113/58
Tristan Clemons (GK) (Bunbury, WA) 7/0
Tim Deavin (Launceston, TAS) 71/3
Jamie Dwyer (Rockhampton, QLD) 296/186
Russell Ford (Eltham, VIC) 125/50
Matt Gohdes (Rockhampton, QLD) 74/20
Kieran Govers (Wollongong, NSW) 72/31
Rob Hammond (Townsville, QLD) 227/27
Fergus Kavanagh (Geraldton, WA) 163/14
Mark Knowles (Rockhampton, QLD) 212/17
Trent Mitton (Perth, WA) 42/14
Eddie Ockenden (Hobart, TAS) 181/49
Simon Orchard (Maitland, NSW) 122/39
Glenn Simpson (Melbourne, VIC) 87/14
Matthew Swann (Mackay, QLD) 91/3

Hockey Australia

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Kookaburras’ 18 Known for Hockey World League at Rotterdam — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *