The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyPunjab Vs Madhya Pradesh and Odisha Vs Maharashtra in the Semi-Finals of Junior Men’s Hockey Nationals 2013

11 June 2013: Defending champions Punjab, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, The Hockey Maharashtra and Odisha entered the semi-finals of the 3rd Hockey India Junior Men National Championship being played at Moti Lal Nehru Sports Complex, Rai in Sonepat (Haryana).

The Fans of HockeyIn the semi-finals to be played on Wednesday in afternoon, Punjab will take on Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy while Odisha will clash with The Hockey Maharashtra.

Defending champion Punjab defeated Sports Authority of India 3-1 in the first quarter-final match.

Punjab scored their opening goal through Simranjeet Singh in the 10th minute while an own goal in the 34th minute helped Sports Authority of India to level the score. In the second half Punjab scored through Jatinder Singh (51min) and Harsahib Singh (59 min) helped them to win this match.

In the second quarter-final, Odisha beat Himachal Pradesh 5-1. Sunil Ekka scored two goals for Odisha while Joseph Toppo, Teophil Kujur and Dipson Tirkey added a goal each for the winners. Karanbir Singh scored the only goal for Himachal Pradesh.

The third quarter-final played between Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy and hosts Haryana witnessed penalty shoot-out, which MPHA won by 4-1. After the hosts had equalized from 0-3 at half time to 3-3 at the end of regulation and which stood till extra time.

Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy scored 3 goals in first half through Nikki Kaushal (6 min), Arjun Sharma (21 min) and Izhar Qureshi (24 min) to go in lemon break with 3 goals cushion. The hosts Haryana came from behind and dominated in the second half of the game to equalize 3-3 at the end of the regulation time with a goal from Nikhil Saroha and two own goals. Both the teams could not break the deadlock in extra time.

In the penalty shoot-out, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy showed an impressive performance scoring through Izhar Qureshi, Mohd Nizamuddin, Arman Qureshi and Abhay Yadav while only Sunil could get past MPHA goalie for Haryana.

In the last quarter-final match The Hockey Maharashtra beat Delhi 2-0 to enter the semi-finals. The Hockey Maharashtra who led 1-0 at the half time scored through Ashutosh Lingesh (7 min) and Mithlesh Kumar (63 min).


Quarter-Final 1: Punjab 3 (Simranjeet Singh 10, Jatinder Singh 51, Harsahib Singh 59) beat Sports Authority of India 1 (Own Goal 34)

Quarter-Final 2: Odisha 5 (Sunil Ekka 11, 62, Joseph Toppo 15, Teophil Kujur 35, Dipson Tirkey 62) beat Himachal Pradesh 1 (Karanbir Singh 9)

Quarter-Final 3: (Regulation Time Score) Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 3 (Nikki Kaushal 6, Arjun Sharma 21, Izhar Qureshi 24) drew Haryana 3 (Own Goal 47, 60, Nikhil Saroha 56)
Shoot-Out Score: Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 4 (Izhar Qureshi, Mohd Nizamuddin, Arman Qureshi and Abhay Yadav) beat Haryana 1 (Sunil)

Quarter-Final 4: The Hockey Maharashtra 2 (Ashutosh Lingesh 7, Mithlesh Kumar 63) beat Delhi 0.

Semi Finals Fixture (Wednesday, 12 June 2013):
Semi-final 1: Punjab vs Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy (1400hrs)
Semi-final 2: Odisha vs The Hockey Maharashtra (1600hrs)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Punjab Vs Madhya Pradesh and Odisha Vs Maharashtra in the Semi-Finals of Junior Men’s Hockey Nationals 2013 — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *