The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyPune Hockey Nationals 2013 Day 10: Defending Champions Punjab, Manipur and Jharkhand in Quarters

6 June 2013: Defending champions Punjab along with Manipur and Jharkhand has entered the Quarter-Finals of the 3rd Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2013 being played in Pune. Chandigarh, Railways, Haryana and Air India are the other teams who have already qualified for the Quarter-finals.

Deepak Thakur scored 5 goals for Punjab

Deepak Thakur scored 5 goals for Punjab

Riding on form of former Indian captain Deepak Thakur, who scored 5 goals, Punjab defeated Delhi 9-2 in their last league match of Pool A to emerge pool toppers.

In addition to 5 goals of Deepak for unbeatable Punjab, Vikramjit Singh scored thrice while Davinder Pal Singh found the target once. Pawan Singh Chauhan and Avtar Singh Mann scored a goal each for Delhi to reduce the margin to 9-2.

In Pool C, Karnataka registered their third consecutive win, as they defeated Bihar 8-1. Karnataka scored through S K Uthappa (11 min), Nikkin Thimmaiah (22 min), S K Chingappa (29, 31 min), M K Muddappa (39 min), Vickram Kant (43 min), B S Bidappa (51 min) and M G Poonacha (52 min) while Bihar’s only reply came from Satnam Singh (56 min). Karnataka will now take on Services Sports Control Board in their last league match which will decide the quarter-finalist team of Pool C.

Manipur booked their birth in the knock-out stage i.e. quarter-finals by a small win (4-2) against Andhra Pradesh in their Pool G league match. Jeyanta Methai and N Ganendrajit scored twice each to win the crucial match for Manipur.

Jharkhand edged past Odisha 3-2 in their deciding league match of Pool E to reach quarter-finals. Jharkhand scored through Shashi Topno (31 min), Welson Minz (40 min) and William Xalxo (58 min) while Amon Mirash Tirkey (20 min) and Deepak Kullu (45 min) scored for Odisha.

Meanwhile, Uttarakhand registered their first win from the three matches they have played in Pool G. Uttarakhand defeated Kerala 5-3 in their last league match. Uttarakhand scored through Arvind Singh Rawat (4 min), Prakash Mehra (14 min), Deepak Rawat (25 min) and Pankaj Aswal (37, 48 min) while Deepak P C (50 min), Bhavanth V V (66 min) and George J V (69 min) scored for Kerala.

In the other match of Pool E, Comptroller & Auditor General defeated Himachal Pradesh 2-1. Comptroller & Auditor General scored through Imran Khan (18 min) and S S Bundela (43 min) while Amit Lohchab (46 min) scored for Himachal Pradesh.


Pool A- Punjab 9 (Deepak Thakur 7, 41, 60, 61, 65, Vikramjit Singh 24, 27, 64, Davinder Pal Singh 35) beat Delhi 2 (Pawan Singh Chauhan 2, Avtar Singh Mann 4)

Pool C- Karnataka 8 (S K Uthappa 11, Nikkin Thimmaiah 22, S K Chingappa 29, 31, M K Muddappa 39, Vickram Kant 43, B S Bidappa 51, M G Poonacha 52) beat Bihar 1 (Satnam Singh 56)

Pool E- Jharkhand 3 (Shashi Topno 31, Welson Minz 40, William Xalxo 58) beat Odisha 2 (Amon Mirash Tirkey 20, Deepak Kullu 45)

Pool E- Comptroller & Auditor General 2 (Imran Khan 18, S S Bundela 43) beat Himachal Pradesh 1 (Amit Lohchab 46)

Pool G- Uttarakhand 5 (Arvind Singh Rawat 4, Prakash Mehra 14, Deepak Rawat 25, Pankaj Aswal 37, 48) beat Kerala 3 (Deepak P C 50, Bhavanth V V 66, George J V 69)

Pool G- Manipur 4 (Jeyanta Methai 27, 38, N Ganendrajit 32, 64) beat Andhra Pradesh 2 ( Sandeep Raju 40 , Ramesh Krishna 64)

Fixture for Friday 7 June 2013

Pool A- Gujarat vs Arunachal Pradesh (0700hrs) and Association of Indian Universities vs Delhi (1600hrs)

Pool C- Goa vs Sports Authority of India (0830hrs) and Karnataka vs Services Sports Control Board (1600hrs)

Pool E- Jharkhand vs Himachal Pradesh (1430hrs) and Bengal vs Comptroller & Auditor General

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Pune Hockey Nationals 2013 Day 10: Defending Champions Punjab, Manipur and Jharkhand in Quarters — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *