Shivendra Singh back in Indian Men’s Team for Hockey World League -3 (Semi Finals)

New Delhi, 29 May 2013: Indian ace forward Shivendra Singh is back Indian team after missing out Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013 and Hockey World League Round 2 (Delhi) which India won to qualify for Round 3. Today, Hockey India announced Indian Senior Men’s team for the FIH Men’s World League Round 3 (Semi-Finals) to be played at Rotterdam (Netherlands) from 13-23 June 2013.

Shivendra Singh

Shivendra Singh

Goalkeeper P R Sreejesh will also be back in action after missing out Netherlands tour as he was busy with his marriage around the same time. Birendra Lakra, who opted out of the tour because of exams, is also included in the team. Danish Mujtaba (who lead India in Azlan Shah Cup 2013) will miss out this tournament due to injury.

Hockey India Selectors Col. Balbir Singh, B P Govinda, Director High Performance Roelant Oltmans and Chief Coach Michael Nobbs alongwith Government Observer Harbinder Singh selected the list of 18 players during the meeting held on 17 May 2013. Continue reading →

Leslie Names Junior Black Sticks Women’s Team for World Cup 2013

Junior Black Sticks Women’s head coach Chris Leslie has named a talented team of 18 players for the Junior World Cup in July.

Junior Black Sticks Hockey New Zealand LogoThe wider squad was narrowed down following the recent five-test series against the Korea Under-21s, which was used for selection purposes. The Junior Black Sticks won the series with two wins, two draws and one loss.

The Junior Black Sticks depart New Zealand on July 19th and play two warm-ups against USA and England ahead of the Women’s Junior World Cup which starts in Germany on July 27th. Continue reading →

Smith Names Electric Ireland Women’s Hockey Squad for 2013

Electric Ireland Irish Women’s Coach Darren Smith has named a strong squad for summer training camps and upcoming test matches vs. Scotland & South Africa prior to the squads participation in TriFinance EuroHockey Championships 2013 from August 17th – 25th in Belgium.

India vs Ireland Women's Hockey Team

File Photo: India vs Ireland Women’s Hockey Team (Photo Credit: Matías Noé Correa Arce)

The Irish coach has selected his panel following extensive review of the Electric Ireland Irish Senior Squad International performances in 2012 & recently in Valencia at World League 2 as well as throughout this seasons hectic Irish Hockey League Schedule.

Smith’s squad includes some new and returning faces with Lizzie Colvin, Deirdre Duke and Gillian Pinder all returning to the squad following education commitments abroad while uncapped UCD midfielder Emily Beatty joins up with the Green Army officially for the first time. Continue reading →

Railways, UP, Chandigarh, Air India, MPHA and Hockey Bhopal start their campaign of Pune Hockey Nationals 2013 on Winning Note

New Delhi, 28 May 2013: Railways, Uttar Pradesh, Chandigarh, Air India, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy and Hockey Bhopal started their campaign on the opening day of the 3rd Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2013 played at Shiv Chattrapati sports complex and Major Dhyan Chand Hockey stadium, Pimpri in Pune on Tuesday.

Hockey India LogoSanjay Bir and B Horo scored five goals each as Railways easily defeated Jammu & Kashmir 20-1 in their Pool F league match. Railways scored through Sanjay Bir (2, 56, 63, 66, 68 min), Jagandeep Singh (9 min), B. Horo (11, 17, 40, 43, 61min, Jasjeet Singh (19, 26, 44min), Gurpreet Singh (27 min), Niyaz Rahim (34 min), Ram Prakash (35 min),  Irshad Mirza (59 min) and Vinod Kumar Singh  (67, 69min) while Sikander Pal Singh (12 min) scored the only goal for Jammu & Kashmir. Continue reading →

Senior Men’s Hockey National Championship 2013 to Start in Pune from 28 May

New Delhi, 27 May 2013: The 3rd edition of the Hockey India Senior Men National Championship will be played at Pune, Maharashtra from 28 May-10 June 2013.

National Champions Punjab receiving trophy from Jagadish Shettar (CM, Karnataka) and Arun Jaitly (BJP Leader)

File Photo: 2012 National Champions Punjab receiving trophy from Jagadish Shettar (CM, Karnataka) and Arun Jaitly (BJP Leader) in Bangalore

In 2013 edition of the championship, as many as 38 teams will be participating in the championship which will be played on a league cum knockout basis on the Major Dhyan Chand Polygrass Hockey Stadium Pimpri and Shiv Chhatrapati Shivaji Sports Complex in Pune.

This year four new teams including Comptroller and Auditor General, Sports Authority of India, Mumbai Hockey Association Limited and Namdhari XI will participate apart from 34 teams which participated in last edition. Continue reading →

Haryana Beat MPHA to Win Sub-Junior Women Hockey National Championship 2013, Odisha won Men’s Title

New Delhi, 27 May 2013: Haryana defeated defending champions Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 3-2 in the final of the 3rd Hockey India Sub-Junior Women National Championship (Finals) 2013 at Aish Bagh Hockey Stadium in Bhopal, while Odisha thrashed Jharkhand by 8-0 to win Men’s title.

The goal scorers for Haryana were Sonika (3 min), Ritu (35 min) and Navneet Kaur (49 min) while Karishma (4 min) and Neelu (24 min) were on target for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, as MPHA failed to defend its title. Continue reading →