The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyAndaman & Nicobar stun Haryana, Air India, Namdhari XI and Chandigarh Win in Pune Hockey Nationals 2013

New Delhi, 30 May 2013: Andaman & Nicobar edged past last edition’s Semi Finalists Haryana 4-2 in Pool H match of the 3rd Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2013 to register their second consecutive win.

Affan Yousuf

Affan Yousuf, who scored 3 goals for Air India

Bijju Yirkal, Kusha, Chandan and Birsu scored a goal each for Andaman & Nicobar while Jitender Saroha scored two goals for Haryana.

Pradhan Somanna, Affan Yousuf and Joga Singh scored three goals each as Air India raced to a 15-0 win against Chhattisgarh in their Pool B league match of Hockey National Championship being played in Pune.

Air India notched their second win in the four team pool. Air India scored through Sameer Dad (2 min), Pradhan Somanna (5, 40, 66 min), Affan Yousuf (9, 31, 68 min), Joga Singh (18, 21, 25 min), Birendra Lakra (32, 63 min), Swami Vinaya (56 min), Cheeyanna Bopaiah (58 min) and Arjun Halappa (61 min) while their opponents Chhattisgarh fail to open their account.

In the match played at Shiv Chhatrapati Shivaji Sports Complex, Namdhari XI registered their second win, as they defeated Hockey Bhopal 4-3 in Pool F. Namdhari XI scored through Sher Singh (12 min), Harpreet Singh (50 min), Dilbag Singh (69 min) and Gurpreet Singh (70 min) while Hockey Bhopal scored through Mayank James (22, 40, 49 min).

Chandigarh registered easy 9-0 win over Assam in their Pool H league match with Gagandeep Singh scoring four goals for Chandigarh. Today’s lose is the second defeat for Assam.


Pool B– Air India 15 (Sameer Dad 2, Pradhan Somanna 5, 40, 66, Affan Yousuf 9, 31, 68, Joga Singh 18, 21, 25, Birendra Lakra 32, 63, Swami Vinaya 56, Cheeyanna Bopaiah 58, Arjun Halappa 61 ) beat Chhattisgarh 0

Pool D– Andaman & Nicobar 4 (Bijju Yirkal 14, Kusha JP 17, Chandan 38, Birsu Bhengra 69) beat Haryana 2 (Jitender Saroha 36, 64)

Pool F– Namdhari XI 4 (Sher Singh 12, Harpreet Singh 50, Dilbag Singh 69, Gurpreet Singh 70) beat Hockey Bhopal 3 (Mayank James 22, 40, 49)

Pool H– Chandigarh 9 (Harmanpreet Singh 8, Varinder Kumar 9, Gagandeep Singh 33, 39, 46, 64, Davinder Singh 51, Prabhakar 52, Shahnawaz Khan 68) beat Assam 0.

Fixture for Friday, 31 May 2013

Venue- Major Dhyan Chand Polygrass Hockey Stadium, Pimpri

Pool B- Air India vs Tripura (0700hrs) and Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy vs Puduherry (1430hrs)

Pool D- Uttar Pradesh vs Andaman & Nicobar (0830hrs) and The Hockey Maharashtra vs Mumbai Hockey Association Limited (1600hrs)

Venue- Shiv Chhatrapati Shivaji Sports Complex in Pune

Pool A- Punjab vs Gujarat (0830hrs)

Pool F- Sashastra Seema Bal vs Jammu & Kashmir (0700hrs) and Railways vs Hockey Bhopal (1600hrs)

Pool H- Tamil Nadu vs Rajasthan (1430hrs)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Andaman & Nicobar stun Haryana, Air India, Namdhari XI and Chandigarh Win in Pune Hockey Nationals 2013 — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *