The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyKarnataka Won their Maiden Title of Senior Men’s Hockey Nationals to Lift Rangaswamy Cup

The 64th edition of the Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup concluded today at the KSHA Hockey Stadium, Bangalore, with hosts Karnataka lifting the cup for the first time in the history of the tournament, while defending champions Mumbai finished third.

Karnataka: The Champions of 64th Senior Men's National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup

Karnataka: The Champions of 64th Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship for Rangaswamy Cup

Then Mysore, Karnataka had entered into the final in the year 1968 and became runners-up then has now created history by winning the 64th edition by beating Uttar Pradesh 3-1. In the third place match, Mumbai matched Punjab and snatched the third place in penalty shoot-out on sudden death, after having equal scores of 2-2 (after full-time), 4-4 in penalty shoot-outs, while in sudden death shoot-out, Mumbai Goalkeeper Sudhir Dixit saved as he faced Balwinder Singh and their Captain Victo Singh scored to finish third.

In a well contested final, the hosts took the advantage of the support from size-able but vocal supporters and took early lead in the 3rd minute through Umesh.

Karnataka played a positive and attacking hockey throughout the game. U.P. too matched Karnataka ball by ball and made several counter attacks and equalized in the 10th minute. Imran Khan of U.P. receiving a pass at the top of circle from his defence, positioned himself and let go a stinger that went through the pads of Karnataka goal Keeper.

Karnataka knowing that this is the day that they should capitalize, went all out attack earned two penalty corners which was successfully converted its in-form captain Deepak Bijwad in the 38th and 57th minutes, while did not give any chance to the captain of Uttar Pradesh and Drag Flicker Diwakar Ram by not conceding even a single penalty corner.

For the third place, Mumbai beat Punjab in the shoot out competition. In the regulation time, both the teams were locked 2 all draw. Extra time too turned out futile. In the shoot out, first set, the teams scored 4 each and in the second set of shoot out, Punjab missed the first shoot out and Mumbai successfully converted the shoot out to emerge as victor. At the end the score in the shoot out was 5-4.  Mumbai secured third position in the championship.

The Champions Karnataka received a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh and Rs. 50,000/- was given to the runners-up Uttar Pradesh apart from the individual trophies for winners, runners-up and 2nd runners-up and team trophies.

The Hosts Karnataka State Hockey Association (KSHA) has rewarded its winning team with Rs. 1 lakh.

Special Prizes:
Best Goal Keeper: Sudhir Dixit of Mumbai
Best Defender: Deepak Beijawad of Karnataka
Best Half Back: Nagasrinu Y of Karnataka
Best Forward: Satwinder singh of Punjab
Top Goal Scorer: Victo Singh of Mumbai ( 11 Field Goals and 1 Penalty Corner goal)
Player of the Championship: Diwakar Ram of Uttar Pradesh.

Results of Final Day (Detailed Results)

3rd Place Match: Mumbai Beat Punjab in sudden death shoot out competition
After full regulation time and extra time:
For Mumbai: Upendra Pillay at 12th min and Vikram Singh at 47th min;
For Punjab: Sanjeev Kumar – 23rd, 35th min.

During First Round of Shoot Competition:
For Mumbai: Victo Singh, Gajendrajit, UpendraPillay, Laxman Rao scored the goals and Ravi Pareek missed the goal.
For Punjab: Balwinder Singh, Samarjit Singh, Ajay Kumar , Amandeep Singh Scored the goal and Satwinder singh missed the goal.

Sudden Death: Victo Singh of Mumbai scored the winning goal and Balwinder Singh missed the goal.

Final Match: Karnataka Beat Uttar Pradesh 3-1:
For Karnataka: Umesh – 3rd min; Deepak Bijwad – 57th min.
For Uttar Pradesh: – Imran Khan – 10th min.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Karnataka Won their Maiden Title of Senior Men’s Hockey Nationals to Lift Rangaswamy Cup — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *