The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsSmith announces Electric Ireland Women’s Hockey Training Camp Squad

Electric Ireland Irish Women’s Coach Darren Smith has named a 43 player squad for a 2-day training camp in Dublin on 25th and 26th May 2013 in preparation for the European Championships in Boom, Belgium from 17th to 25th August 2013.

India vs Ireland Women's Hockey Team

File Photo: Ireland Women’s Hockey Players in Action (Photo Credit: Matías Noé Correa Arce)

Smith has selected the group having taken in every round of the Electric Ireland Irish Hockey League recently culminating in the Finals last weekend at Three Rock Rovers Hockey Club. Smith’s selection includes some new faces in the squad with uncapped players Vanessa Surgeoner, Chloe Brown, Kate Lloyd, Emily Beatty, Erika Hinkson, Yvonne O’Byrne, Aisling Campion & Kate Dillon joining the Green Army on this occasion. The Irish coach will also have to do without the services of Emma Clarke who is unavailable due to her upcoming marriage.

After the training weekend Smith will reduce the squad further to select a squad to train toward the European Championships and in to the latter part of 2013.

Speaking to Darren Smith said “The camp will be an opportunity to get together a group of players who have performed well over 2012/2013 and see where they are at. The focus will be on selecting a squad for the European Championships and ultimately the Rio Olympics in 3 years’ time.”

Smith continued “We have looked at players who are not only performing now but also have the potential to be Irish international players in the future. We are very keen to continue monitoring players over the coming years to ensure we have the best playing for Ireland.”

Electric Ireland Senior Irish Women’s Squad
Grace O’Flanagan (Railway Union)
Emma Gray (Hermes)
Sammy-Jo Greer (Ballymoney)
Pamela Smithwick (Old Alex)
Kate Dillon (Railway Union)
Aisling Campion (Loreto)
Niamh Atcheler (University College Dublin)
Brenda Flannery (University College Dublin)
Nicola Gray (University College Dublin)
Sarah Greene (University College Dublin)
Sinead McCarthy (Hermes)
Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)
Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins)
Cliodhna Sargent (Cork Harlequins)
Lizzie Colvin (Loreto)
Leah Ewart (University College Dublin)
Michelle Harvey (Pegasus)
Stephanie Quinn (Pegasus)
Kate McConnell (Pegasus)
Erika Hinkson (Old Alex)
Shirley McCay (Old Alex)
Emma Smyth (Railway Union)
Nicci Daly (Loreto)
Ali Meeke ( Loreto)
Nikki Symmons (Loreto)
Megan Frazer (Ballymoney)
Gillian Pinder (Hermes)
Alex Speers (Railway Union)
Emily Beatty (University College Dublin)
Chloe Watkins (University College Dublin)
Lisa Jacob (Hermes)
Zara Delany (Railway Union)
Kate Lloyd (Railway Union)
Niamh Small (Loreto)
Deirdre Duke (University College Dublin)
Nikki Evans (University College Dublin)
Katie Mullan (University College Dublin)
Anna O’Flanagan (University College Dublin)
Chloe Brown (Ards)
Vanessa Surgeoner (Pegasus)
Naomi Carroll (Catholic Institute)
Miriam Crowley (University College Cork)
Aine Connery (Corinthian)

Irish Hockey Association / Photo Credit:  Matías Noé Correa Arce

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Smith announces Electric Ireland Women’s Hockey Training Camp Squad — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *