The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeySenior Men’s Hockey Nationals for Rangaswamy Cup Returns to Bangalore after 16 Years

The final phase of Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship for the 64th Rangaswamy Cup will be played at KSHA Hockey Stadium, Bangalore. The Championship has returned to Bangalore after 16 years, which will be organized by Karnataka State Hockey Association (KSHA) under the auspices of Indian Hockey Federation (IHF).

Indian Hockey Federation LogoHosts Karnataka will take on defending champions Mumbai in the opening game on 8th May, 2013 at 4:30 PM. (Full Schedule here)

The week long competition will conclude on 16th May, with final match being played under lights at 6 PM while 3rd place play off match will be played 4PM and prize distribution ceremony after final match. The final will be graced by Dinesh Reddy (IPS, DGP of Andhra Pradesh and the President of IHF) as chief guest.

The tournament will see 6 zonal champions Punjab (North), Mumbai (West), Karnataka (South), Jharkhand (East), Uttar Pradesh (Central) and Manipur (North-East) vying for top honors. The competition will be played in single pool league followed by classification matches on final day.

IHF is attempting to make the National Championship more competitive by opting zonal system to do away with one-sided matches, which will also help in cutting down the organizational costs, duration and efforts.

KSHA advisor and former IHF President RK Shetty said the institutional teams rejected their invitation to play in the tournament. “We invited Railways but some officials in Railways said they are affiliated to Hockey India, but nobody knows how and since when?” he said.

On asking about the Karnataka team, coach Ramesh Parameswaran said, “We have a young team comprising of youngsters. The tournament is an opportunity for them to prove their potential.”

Karnataka squad:
Goalkeepers: SG Sambran, Malan Gowda.
Defenders: Deepak Bijawad (captain), K Ponnanna, AD Cariappa.
Midfielders: Rathan Muthanna, Vinayaka Bijawad, Nagasrini, Naveen Manupati, Teja Babu.
Forwards: Umesh, KR Rajesh, Biju BY, Md Nayeem, Chengappa PS, Honnurswamy, Boney Marshal, Kusha.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Senior Men’s Hockey Nationals for Rangaswamy Cup Returns to Bangalore after 16 Years — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *