The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyHaryana take on Defending Champions Railways in Final of Senior Women’s Hockey Nationals

New Delhi, 29 April 2013: Last year’s runners-up Haryana scored a comprehensive 3-1 win over Punjab to enter the final of the 3rd Hockey India Senior Women National Championship being played at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium in the Guru Gobind Singh Sports College in Lucknow, while defending champions Railways defeated Jharkhand 2-1 in other semi-final to reach finals.

After playing a goalless half, Haryana forwards showcased their skills and pace from the start of the second half to enjoy the upper hand. Narinder scored an opening goal for Haryana in the 37th minute by converting a penalty corner. In the 46th minute Haryana scored its second goal through Reena Devi and three minutes later Udita scored another goal to give them a 3-0 lead.

Punjab tried to reduce the margin in the 52nd minute with the goal scored by Lalremruati. After leading 3-1, Haryana denied any scoring chance to the opponents.

In Tuesday’s final, to be played at 4:00 PM, Haryana will take on defending Champion Railways who earlier knocked out Jharkhand.

In the first semi-final played earlier, defending Champion Railways scored a 2-1 win over Jharkhand.

Laurenua Kerketta scored two goals in the 30th and 34th minute for the Railways to put pressure on the opponents.

Railways looked the better drilled outfit with a lot of character and composure while Jharkhand committed errors that put them on the defensive for much of the match before Punita Minz scored their only goal in the last minute of the game

Fixture for Finals (30 April 2013, Tuesday)
3rd Place Play-off – Jharkhand vs Punjab (2:00pm)
Final – Railways vs Haryana (4:00pm)

In the quarter finals:

Punjab beat Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 2-1: After conceding an early goal Punjab find their rhythm and flow in the second half of the game scoring two goals through Lalremruati in the 53 and 66 minute. Preeti scored the only goal for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy in the 15th minute through Preeti.

Jharkhand beat Karnataka 7-1: Jharkhand who led 4-1 at the half time scored through Sarita Lakra (3, 41 min), Shilwanti Minjur (7, 25 min), Ebha Kerketta (10 min), Mukta Mundu (49 min), Nisha Rani (67 min) while Chaitra KC (15 min) scored the only goal for Karnataka.

Defending champions Railways defeated Uttar Pradesh 6-1: Railways goals came throughJasjeet Kaur 7, 59, Amandeep Kaur 12, Roselin Dung Dung 23, Laurenua Kerketta 44 and Binita Xess 51 while hosts Uttar Pradesh scored through Pratibha Chaudhary  in 9th minute of the game.

Haryana beat Sports Authority of India 4-1: Haryana scored through Jyoti Sharma 8, Narinder 10, Monika Dahiya 17, Bharti 61 while SAI reduced the margin through Binita Kundu in 50th minute.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Haryana take on Defending Champions Railways in Final of Senior Women’s Hockey Nationals — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *