The Fans of HockeyEventsAzlan Shah CupAustralia defeat Malaysia to win Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 7th Time, Korea won Bronze

17 March 2013: In a dramatic final match, Australia scored four seconds before full-time winning 3-2 and denying Malaysia (ranked 13th), in front of a home crowd of 15,000, the chance to win the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. While defending champions New Zealand (Black Sticks) finished fourth having lost 2-1 to Korea and India defeated Pakistan (4-2) to finish fifth.

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013 Logo

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013

This was fourth appearance of Malaysia in the final of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in 22 Editions and 30 years. Malaysia lost to Australia in 2007 and India in 1985 and 2009 in their other final appearance.

In today’s Final Match: Faizal Saari, continuing with his fine form, took his side ahead in 4th minute after they won back-to-back penalty corners to score his sixth goal of the tournament. Malaysian were in control of the game, but Australia made use of their first penalty corner to equalize. Nicholas Budgeon scored the equaliser in the 29th minute on PC, while Craig Boyne earned lead (2-1) for his team in the very next minute.

Though Malaysia equalised in the 49th minute through Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin with a simple tap on far post on a cross from Mohd Marhan Jalil. But Trent Mitton stunned the fans with his dying second goal to win the game and 7th title for the Kookaburras.

In the Bronze Medal match: The Kiwis were competitive with equal possession and opportunities throughout the game, but in the end the only goal came from Stephen Jenness in the second half.

Korea took the lead in the 33rd minute through a penalty corner converted by Hyun Hye Sung. The Black Sticks got the equaliser in the 41st minute through Jenness but Korea regained the lead in the 58th minute when Nam Hyun Woo converted a penalty corner and took the score to 2-1.

New Zealand were awarded two late penalty corners, but both were successfully defended by Koreans. With four minutes to play, the Black Sticks replaced the goal keeper with an additional field player but even desperate measures could not produce an equalizer to send the game into extra time, and the Koreans took the bronze.

Sultan Azlan Shah XI:
Kumar Subramaniam GK, Malaysia
Defenders: Muhammad Imran (Pakistan), Mohd Razie Rahim (Malaysia), Nam Nyun Woo (South Korea) Deavin Timothy (Australia)
Mid-fielders: Shafqat Rasool (Pakistan), Manpreet Singh (India), Glenn Simpson (Australia)
Forwards: Matt Gohdes (Australia), Jacob Whetton (Australia), Faizal Saari (Malaysia)

Special Prizes:
Player of Tournament: Mohd Razie Abdul Rahim (Malaysia)
Man of Match of Final: Trent Mitton (Australia)
Top Scorer: Faisal Saari (Malaysia) & Rupinder Pal Singh (India)
Best Goalkeeper: S. Kumar (Malaysia)
Raja Ashman Fairplay:Korea

Results of Play-off Matchs:
Final: Malaysia 2 Australia 3
Third-Fourth: New Zealand 1 South Korea 2
Fifth-Sixth: India 4 Pakistan 2.




Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Australia defeat Malaysia to win Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 7th Time, Korea won Bronze — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *