The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsFive more Kookaburras join Mumbai Magicians and Punjab Warriors

After return of 9 Pakistani players, the Hockey India League board quickly resolved the issue of teams having fewer players, allowing them to select replacement players from the list of reserves who missed out in the original auction.

Liam De Young

Liam De Young

Australian coaches in the league Ric Charlesworth (Mumbai Magicians) and Barry Dancer (Punjab Warriors) immediately filled their sought after vacancies with trusty foes – 2013 Kookaburras national squad players.

Charlesworth added Kookaburras co-captain Liam de Young, London Olympic bronze medallist Tim Deavin and 2012 Champions Trophy gold medallist’s Glenn Simpson and Jason Wilson. The Magicians team now comprises 8 Australian players while the Warriors have 7. Dancer opted to replace Kashif Shah with Victorian and 2012 Champions Trophy gold medallist, Russell Ford.

The latest inclusions take Australia’s tally of players in the HIL to 20, accounting for 40% of the total foreign players in the competition.

These new players did not take much to get into action and have already started making impact on the games of their respective team, though Mumbai is yet to win a game after their four outing.

Other Australians in the tournament are Eddie Ockenden, George Bazeley and Luke Doerner in Uttar Pradesh Wizards, while Matthew Gohdes and Fergus Kavanagh are playing for Delhi Waveriders and Ranchi Rhinos respectively.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Five more Kookaburras join Mumbai Magicians and Punjab Warriors — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *