The Fans of HockeyWorld Hockey NewsDarren Smith announces ‘Electric Ireland’ Senior Women’s Squad

Wednesday, 9th January 2013:  New Irish Women’s coach Darren Smith has today announced his first ‘Electric Ireland’ Senior Women’s Squad for the upcoming training camp in Valencia, Spain . Smith’s squad will train under the new coach from the 2nd – 11th February 2013 and will also play three friendly games vs. Spain during the training camp.

Irish Hockey Association Logo17 of the 18 Irish players who claimed the Bronze Medal at the FIH Champion Challenge I in Dublin last September have been included in this ‘Electric Ireland’ Senior Women’s Squad with the only exception being Miriam Crowley who is unavailable due to sitting her final dentistry exams and additionally Lizzie Colvin who is also unavailable due to study commitments.  Smith’s selection also sees the return of Emma Clarke, Nicci Daly, Cliodhna Sargent & Shirley McCay who were previously unavailable for the FIH Champions Challenge I tournament.

Following the camp in Valencia, Smith will name his 18 players for the FIH World League II which also takes place in Valencia, Spain from 25th February – 3rd March 2013.  Smith will be joined, on an interim basis, for both the Training Camp and FIH World League II Tournament by Assistant Coach Mary Logue and Strength & Conditioning Coach, George Petrakos from UCD Institute for Sport, High Performance Unit.

Commenting on his selection Smith said I’m looking forward to arriving in Ireland on 25th January 2013 to start what will be an exciting period of mine and my new wife Beth’s lives. I’ll get my first chance to see the girls in action at club hockey the day after arriving and then we will begin training in Dublin over that week. The Valencia camp will give us a good opportunity to work with a broad squad, prepare the team for World League II and together start creating the team environment we want to have going forward.

Smith continued ‘The team selected is in my opinion is the best available to represent Ireland. This is after some consultation with coaches who have seen the players performing at club and international level and also reviewing video from recent campaigns. This process has not been easy given that I have been unable to see the athletes in person and have had to select the team from New Zealand. The next team selected after the Valencia camp will be based on performance that I would have had the opportunity to see first-hand.’

Electric Ireland Senior Women’s Squad

  1. Niamh Atcheler (UCD)
  2. Emma Clarke (Leicester, England)
  3. Aine Connery (Corinthian)
  4. Nicci Daly (Holcombe HC, England)
  5. Nikki Evans (UCD)
  6. Brenda Flannery (UCD)
  7. Emma Gray (Hermes)
  8. Nicola Gray (UCD)
  9. Michelle Harvey (Pegasus)
  10. Lisa Jacob (Hermes)
  11. Sinead McCarthy (Hermes)
  12. Shirley McCay (Old Alexandra)
  13. Katie Mullan (UCD)
  14. Anna O’Flanagan (UCD)
  15. Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)
  16. Cliodhna Sargent (Cork Harlequins)
  17. Niamh Small (Loreto)
  18. Pamela Smithwick (Old Alexandra)
  19. Emma Smyth (Railway Union)
  20. Alex Speers (Railway Union)
  21. Nikki Symmons (Loreto)
  22. Chloe Watkins (UCD)

Irish Hockey

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Darren Smith announces ‘Electric Ireland’ Senior Women’s Squad — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *