The Fans of HockeyJunior IndiaJunior German Hockey Team defeat India 3-2 to Win 2nd Sultan of Johor Cup, Malaysia

Five times World Champions Germany defeated India 3-2 in the final of 2nd Sultan of Johor Cup, Under-21 Invitational Hockey Tournament at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium, Malaysia today to stop India’s unbeaten run and win the title. Australia blew off 2-0 lead but defeated Pakistan 3-2 on golden goal to finish at third place, while defending champions and hosts Malaysia were handed over wooden spoon by New Zealand who won the play off 2-1 on golden goal.

Sultan of Johor Cup 2012The Final Standings and Special Prizes of Sultan of Johor Cup 2012:

Champions: Germany;     Runner-up: India;             Third: Australia
Fourth: Pakistan;              Fifth: New Zealand;           Sixth: Malaysia

Fairplay: New Zealand
Top scorer: Russell Kane (5 goals)
Man of the match: Niklas Wellen (Germany)
Most promising player: Tom Grambusch (Germany)
Best goalkeeper: Tirkey Sushant (India)

In the final Match, Satbir Singh (24th minute) and Akashdeep Singh (67th minute) scored for India while Jonas Gomoll (11th minute penalty corner), Joshua Delarber (30th minute penalty corner) and Florian Adrians (49th minute) were on target for Germany.

Germany took the lead within the first quarter-hour through a penalty corner goal by Jonas Gomoll but India reduced the margin in the 24th minute through Satbir Singh. Germany regained the lead in the 30th minute scoring through Joshua Delarber.

Florian Adrians scored 14 minutes into the second half for Germany to take a 3-1 lead. India strove hard to reduce the gap and scored through Akashdeep Singh with three minutes left for the hooter. The Germans defended hard to prevent India from equalising and taking the final into extra-time.

In third place play off match, Australia lead 2-0 through Cassey Hammond (9th Minute) and skipper Dylan Wotherspoon (11th Minute) but Pakistan fought hard to equalize. Pakistan’s Mohamed Irfan pulled one back in 49th minute and Rizwan Ali scored equalizer in 66th minute to push the match into extra time. Australia’s Jayshaan Randhawa scored the winner for his team with two minutes remaining in the first half of the extra time.

The hosts and defending champions Malaysia lost to New Zealand to finish last in the tournament after taking lead in 48th minute through Mohd Noor Faeez Ibrahim. But junior Black Sticks equalized through Jared Panchia and in extra time, scored through Kane Russel on their only penalty corner of the match (72nd Minute) through Kane Russel to finish at 5th place.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Junior German Hockey Team defeat India 3-2 to Win 2nd Sultan of Johor Cup, Malaysia — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *