The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyQueensland Men Crowned 2012 Australian Hockey League Champions

Queensland has been crowned the 2012 Men’s Australian Hockey League Champions after defeating Western Australia 3-2 in the Grand Final at the National Hockey Centre in Canberra today.

Queensland : Australian Hockey League Champions (Source: Hockey Australia)

The best of Australian men’s hockey talent was on display in the Grand-Final of the Australian Hockey League when Queensland outlasted 2011 AHL Champions, Western Australia. In an exciting game between two masterful attacking teams, Queensland was dominant in the first half and led 2-1 at half time. At the post-final presentations, Queensland’s Matthew Swann was voted Player of the Final.

In the classification matches, the early morning game saw Tasmania finish 7th when they responded positively to their indifferent play-off performance to defeat a gallant South Australia 4-1. Northern Territory turned the tables on the more fancied ACT to win 2-1 to claim fifth position and relegate ACT to sixth. In the play-off for bronze, Victoria overcame New South Wales’ relentless pressure to score three late goals to win 3-1, after NSW had a deserved 1-0 lead at half time.

At the conclusion of the championship, NSW’s Captain Simon Orchard was voted Player of the Tournament.

Grand-Final: Queensland 3 def Western Australia 2 (2-1 half time)
QLD: Dylan Wotherspoon (12m FG), Jamie Dwyer (26m FG), Kane Posselt (50m FG)
WA: Craig Boyne (26m FG), Chris Bausor (50m PS)

Bronze medal Play-off: Victorian 3 def NSW 1 (0-1 half time)
VIC: Russell Ford (62m FG), Chris Ciriello (66m PS, 70m PC)
NSW: Flynn Ogilvie (19m FG)

5 v 6 Play-off: North Territory def ACT 2-1 (1-1 half time)
NT: Joe Crooks (6m FG), Adrian Lockley (36m FG)
ACT: Sam Pike (19m PC)

7 v 8 Play-off: Tasmania 4 def South Australia 1 (2-0 half time)
TAS: Adam Clifford (17m FG), Luke Doerner (35m PC), Nick Budgeon (56m PC), Eddie Ockenden (70m FG)
SA: Cameron Joyce (66m PC)

The Kookaburras will be competing against England, India and Pakistan in the 2012 International Super Series Hockey 9’s in Perth, November 22-25.

The 2013 National Squad and 2012 International Super Series team will be selected in the coming day.

Hockey Australia

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Queensland Men Crowned 2012 Australian Hockey League Champions — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *