The Fans of HockeyHockey IndiaRajeev Shukla, Arun Jaitley & Rajat Sharma join Hockey India League (HIL) Board

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Rajeev Shukla, Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley and media personality Rajat Sharma have been named members of the Board of the high-profile Hockey India League (HIL) that will be held in January-February 2013.

Hockey India Logo

Hockey India

Hockey India Secretary-General and HIL Chairman Dr. Narinder Batra said the appointments of these personalities from outside hockey circles would enhance the profile of the League. “We are honoured that Mr Rajeev Shukla, Mr. Arun Jaitley and Mr. Rajat Sharma have accepted our invitation to be on the Board,” he said.

“We are sure that the Hockey India League will gain from Mr. Shukla’s knowledge gained as Chairman of the Indian Premier League Governing Council and in public life, Mr. Jaitley’s vast experience as lawyer and sports administrator and Mr. Rajat Sharma’s experience as a media personality,” Dr. Batra said.

“I am glad to be given the opportunity to serve our National sport and am sure that the Hockey India League will be an unqualified success,” Mr. Shukla said. “I believe everyone in our country loves hockey and hopes for it to return to the big league. As with IPL, I am sure players around the world will want to be a part of the Hockey India League.”

Echoing such sentiments, Mr. Jaitley said hockey in India is poised for a massive shot in the arm and he was excited to be a part of the evolution. “As a fan of hockey, I have seen the positive steps that Hockey India has taken and I am confident that the professional league with the world’s best players taking part can only help Indian hockey progress faster,” he said.

Mr. Rajat Sharma said he was delighted to be invited to be on the Board of Hockey India League. “Without doubt, all of us want Indian hockey to regain its footing among the world’s elite and I believe that Hockey India League will enable us get back where we belong,” he said.

Hockey India Press Release

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Rajeev Shukla, Arun Jaitley & Rajat Sharma join Hockey India League (HIL) Board — 2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *