Ritu Rani scores hat-trick as India scores 9-0 victory over Singapore

India secured its second successive victory in the sixth Women’s Junior Asia Cup Hockey Championship with a thumping 9-0 verdict over Singapore in a Group A league match here on Thursday. Skipper Ritu Rani scored a hat-trick while vicecaptain Poonam Rani also scored three goals as the team followed up its 16-0 win against Sri Lanka.

Vandana Katariya scored off a sixth minute penalty corner to open the scoring. Seven minutes later, fellow forward Anupa Barla increased the lead with a field goal. Poonam Rani scored off a penalty corner in the 22nd minute while Lily Chanu Mayengam added a field goal just before the break to ensure that India held a 4-0 lead. Continue reading →

Ritu Rani will lead Team India at Junior Women Asia Cup, Thailand

India started their campaign in 6th Junior Women’s Asia Cup against Sri Lanka on June 27 and defeated them 16-0. India will then face Singapore, China and Malaysia in their group stage matches. (Detailed Schedule Here)

Ritu Rani

Ritu Rani

This tournament will be the qualifier for the FIH Junior Women World cup to be held in 2013. The 18 member squad will be lead by experienced midfielder Ritu Rani while forward Poonam Rani will be the Vice-Captain. India are the bronze medalists of last edition of Junior Women Asia Cup played at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 2008. Continue reading →

6th Junior Women’s Asia Cup Schedule and Results

Asian Hockey Federation Logo6th Junior Women’s Asia Cup
from 27 June to 7 July 2012 at Bangkok, Thailand

Participating Teams:
Pool A: China, India, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka
Pool B: Korea, Japan, Thailand, Kazakhstan, Pakistan

Final Standings:

  1. China
  2. India
  3. Korea
  4. Japan
  5. Malaysia
  6. Thailand
  7. Sri Lanka
  8. Pakistan
  9. Singapore
  10. Kazakhstan

Schedule and Results: Continue reading →

India scores 16-0 victory over Sri Lanka in Junior Women’s Asia Cup

The Indian junior women’s hockey squad scored a facile 16-0 victory over Sri Lanka in its opening Group A match in the Asia Cup here yesterday. As many as four players Anupa Barla, Vandana Katariya, Poonam Rani and Ritu Rani scored three goals each in a match the team dominated with six goals in the first half.

Navneet Kaur opened the floodgates with a field goal in the sixth minute. Before the first quarter-hour, Anupa Barla and Vandana Katariya added to the tally. Vice-captain Poonam Rani became the first Indian player to score off a penalty corner when she succeeded in the 17th minute before Lily Chanu Mayengbam made it 5-0 in the 22nd minute. Poonam Rani scored off a penalty corner again before the interval. Continue reading →

2012 Field Hockey Canada Senior National Championships kick off tomorrow night in Surrey

Surray JUNE 28, 2012:

EVENT PAGE: www.fieldhockey.ca/SENIOR
LOCATION: Tamanawis Park (12515 64th Avenue – Surrey, BC  V3W 1W9)
DATES:  June 29 – July 3

Canada’s top field hockey athletes will gather in Surrey, BC this weekend to compete in the 2012 Field Hockey Canada Senior National Championships.  The tournament will take place at Tamanawis Park, June 29th – July 3rd Continue reading →

Team GB Men’s Hockey Squad Selected for London 2012 Olympics

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has announced today the 16 players who will represent Team GB in men’s hockey at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The men’s hockey squad has risen consistently up the world rankings since the Olympic Games were awarded to London back in 2005.  At the time, they were ranked 11th in the world. Since then the players have demonstrated huge progress to reach their current world ranking of fourth.

At the last Olympics in Beijing Team GB narrowly missed out on a place in the semi finals and finished the tournament in fifth position. At London 2012 they will have their sights firmly fixed on reaching the medal matches at the Riverbank Arena in the Olympic Park.

The selected athletes are: name (age; hometown; current club):
Nicholas Catlin (23; Marlow, Bucks; Reading)
Jonathan Clarke (31; Southend-on-Sea, Essex; Reading)
Matthew Daly (28; Surbiton, Greater London; Surbiton)
James Fair (31; Chester, Cheshire; Cannock)
Daniel Fox (29; Godalming, Surrey; Hampstead & Westminster)
Ben Hawes (31; Lewes, East Sussex; Wimbledon)
Ashley Jackson (24; Tunbridge Wells, Kent; East Grinstead)
Glenn Kirkham (29; Chelmsford; East Grinstead)
Iain Lewers (28; Belfast, Northern Ireland; East Grinstead)
Iain Mackay (27; Braintree, Essex; Reading)
Harry Martin (19; Ipswich, Suffolk; Old Loughtonians)
Barry Middleton (28; Doncaster, South Yorkshire; East Grinstead)
Robert Moore (31; Winchester, Hampshire; Surbiton)
Richard Smith (24; Portsmouth, Hampshire; Loughborough Students)
James Tindall (29; Virginia Water, Surrey; Surbiton)
Alastair Wilson (28; Sheffield, South Yorkshire; Beeston) Continue reading →