Big changes afoot for National Under 21 Tournament

Some big changes are coming to the 2012 National Under 21 Tournament, which is set to take place at the Gallagher Hockey Centre in Hamilton from 7-12 May.

Hosted by Waikato Hockey, the tournament will see a change to the format with two pools of four, which was the same format used at the Owen G Glenn FIH Men’s Champions Trophy last year. This replaces the format from last year which was a round robin followed by finals.

The very popular Penalty Shoot-out Competition will again be used at this year’s tournament in the event of any drawn games.

Similar to the National Hockey League, the tournament will this year see Men’s and Women’s teams representing the eight regions from Northland to Southern competing for the national title. The combined team previously known as Northern, has split to allow teams from Northland and North Harbour to compete as independent regions. Continue reading →

Jr Asia Cup Schedule and Results

Junior Asia Cup 20127th Men’s Junior Asia Cup 2012

Dates: 03 May – 13 May 2012
at MELAKA (Malaysia)

Final Standings:
1. Malaysia, 2. Pakistan, 3. India, 4. Korea, (First four qualifies for Junior World Cup 2013, to be held in India)
5. Japan, 6. China, 7. Iran and 8. Sri Lanka

Participating teams:
Standing After League Round
Pool A:
1. Malaysia, 2. Korea, 3. Japan, 4. Iran
Pool B: 1. Pakistan, 2. India, 3. China, 4. Sri Lanka


May 3, 2012:
Korea vs Japan (Pool A) : 4-1
Malaysia vs Iran (Pool A) : 6-1

May 4, 2012:
Pakistan vs China (Pool B) : 1-0
India vs Sri Lanka (Pool B) : 11-0 Continue reading →