The Fans of HockeyEventsWorld Series HockeySher-e-Punjab: The Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

In the summit clash of Bridgestone World Series Hockey between Sher-e-Punjab and Pune Strykers (who defeated Karnataka Lions (4-1) and Chandigarh Comets (4-4 (3-2 PS)) enroute to finals respectively), it was strykers who started nicely and took lead through Tyron Pereira in the 4th Minute of game. Tyron’s slap shot from the baseline just inside the D, went into net after taking deflection from Harpreet Singh, the Shers’ defender.

Individual Awards:
WSH Rockstar (Rs 1 crore): Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets).
WSH Indian Superstar (Rs 50 lakh): Roshan Minz (Pune Strykers).
WSH Golden Stick (Rs 25 lakh): Syed Imran Warsi (Chennai Cheetahs) & Gurjinder Singh (Chandigarh Comets) (19 goals apiece).
WSH Game Changer (Rs 25 lakh): Shakeel Abbasi (Delhi Wizards).
WSH Rookie of the Year (Rs 10 lakh): Lalit Upadhyay (Bhopal Badshahs).
WSH Best Coach (Balkrishna Award): Rajinder Singh (Sher-e-Punjab).
Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

Sher-e-Pujab the Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey

As usual, the Shers came out strongly as wounded Lions, as they not only denied room to Stykers’ strikers but also equalized within 2 minute in an indirect PC conversion, when Indian International VS Vinaya (who also plays in Spanish League) sent the ball into the nets. VS Vinaya, Mandeep Antil and Mathew Hotchkis did the hardwork in mid-field and set up many goal bound moves, but Gurpreet Guri (Stykers’ Goalie) stood tall in front of the nets, before Thakur sent the ball into the net after receiving a pass from Mathew Hotchkis just 2 minutes before Half Time.

Highlights of the Match

3rd Quarter saw equal intensity from both the midfields and creating goal scoring opportunities but Sher Defenders continued the close marking of Strykers and denied them space, while Strykers goalie Guri looked good, before Prabhjot sent in reverse hit between him and post in 47th Minute to make it 3-1 in favor of Sher-e-Punjab.

Punjab turned it on in last quarter, and made 4-1 when Harpreet Singh sent a direct flick to the boards in PC in 57th Minute. Then Stykers kept looking for the space and attacked hard but could not find the touch to make a come back. Final nail in Pune’s Coffin was struck by Sher-e-Punjab Captain Prabhjot Singh again, just 4 minute before the final hooter. Simrandeep Randhawa pulled one consolation goal for the Strykers at the stroke of final hooter.

Goal Scorers for Sher-e-Punjab:
V S Vinaya 6′ (PC)
Deepak Thakur 33′ (FG)
Prabhjot Singh 47′ (FG)
Harpreet Singh 57′ (PC)
Prabhjot Singh 66′ (FG)

Goal Scorers for Pune Strykers:
Tyron Pereira 4′ (FG)
Simrandeep 70′ (PC)

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Sher-e-Punjab: The Champions of 1st Bridgestone World Series Hockey — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *