Sketches (Caricatures) of Hockey Players

Here we present you some sketches (caricatures) of hockey players, sketched by Mr Naseeb Singh of Hanumangarh(Rajasthan). We thank him for his gesture towards hockey players and allowing us to use his work on our website.
We have included Sachin Tendulkar’s sketch as a surprising element for all of his fans 🙂

The Fans of Hockey Calendar 2012 #2: Dedicated to Dilip Tirkey

We bring to you the second calendar of 2012 (the London Olympic Year) which dedicated to Indian Hockey’s star defender (the wall of Hockey) Dilip Tirkey.

Our earlier calendars are:
2012#1 The Fans of Hockey Calendar 2012 #1
2011#1. Calendar 2011
2011#2. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Women’s Team and
2011#3. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Men’s Team )

Continue reading →

The Fans of Hockey Calendar 2012 #1

After our 2011 calendars  (1. Calendar 2011 and 2. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Women’s Team and 3. Calendar 2011: Dedicated to Men’s Team ) popularity we have decided to launch calendar for 2012 (the London Olympic Year). And here we present you the first design of the calendar and you can expect a few more in the series in coming days.

Wish you all Merry Christmas
Guess the player in the calendar, write down his name in comments and also if you are interested in prints of the calendars

We sincerely thank Bharat Chhikara for doing photoshoot with us. You can check our old calendars which are included below: Continue reading →

Haryana clinch Junior Nationals Title Also

After winning Senior Nationals 2011, Haryana Juniors defeated Odisha 3-2 in the penalty shoot out for a 5-4 aggregate victory to lift the 1st Hockey India Junior Men’s National hockey title.  The two teams were locked 2-2 at the end of the regulation time.

Best Goalkeeper: Subodh Tirkey (Orissa);
Best Defender: Kiro Xess (Jharkhand);
Best Mid-fielder: Pardeep Mor (Haryana);
Best forward: Manish Rana (Haryana);
Player of the tournament: Mandeep Singh (Punjab);
Fair play trophy: Mizoram.

In the new penalty shootout format (as it was seen in Asian Champions Trophy final between India and Pakistan), Orissa skipper Stanli Victor Minz and Amon Mirash Tirkey failed to put the ball in, Haryana’s Manish Rana found the target to take his 1-0 up. While Odisha came back into match through Mikhal Barla and Bikas Kujur after Haryana’s Siddhant Gautam failed to score, Ranjit Singh and Naveen Antil made sure they had the last laugh. Continue reading →

Livermore lead WSH World XI outplay Prabhjot lead WSH India XI in WSH exhibition match

WSH India XI and  WSH World XI dished out splendid  hockey in an exhibition match at the floodlit Sector 42 Hockey Stadium here tonight.  As Indians displayed finishing touches and relatively poor defence, WSH World XI outclassed the hosts in the last two quarters to register  a well-merited  7-2 verdict after sharing honours at the end of the first two quarters which ended in  2-all draw.

Prabhjot Singh

Prabhjot Singh

Both teams utilized the rolling substitute to  give their players rest at regular intervals. However, WSH World XI translated this rule to their maximum advantage.

WSH World XI scored through Joseph Reardon (10th), Roderik Huber (32nd), Connon Grimes (38th), Pheiie Maguire (40th), Peter Kelly (55th, 59th ) and David Seddon (67th PC). For WSH India XI Deepk Thakur (17th) and Dhanraj Pillay (28th).

In initial burst, WSH World XI initiated a dangerous move. Chris Seddon cut into the striking circle from the left flank and sent the ball across the goal line with a powerful reverse shot. Before Benedikt Sperling  could do any damage, Olympian Harpal Singh cleared the  ball. Continue reading →

WSH World XI to take on WSH India XI in World Series Hockey Exhibition Match

The epochal and path-breaking World Series Hockey is putting on a special exhibition match on December 20 at the Sector-42 Stadium in Chandigarh. This showcase is aimed at giving fans a taste of the action that they can expect to see when WSH begins on 29th February, 2012.The two teams playing this match will be WSH World XI and WSH India XI.

WSH-India-XI-Vs-WSH-World-XIThe match will start at 6 pm and the stadium gates will be opened at 4 pm. Entry for the game is free on a first come first serve basis.

The WSH World XI will comprise of all the star players from abroad who have signed on for the tournament and will be coached by Andrew Meredith and Jose Brasa. Leading the pack will be Olympic Gold Medalist Brent Livermore along with Zeeshan Ashraf, Jiwa Mohan, Chris Seddon and many more as they scorch the field for the WSH World XI team with their stunning pace and technique.  Brent Livermore said, “I’m really excited to captain the WSH World XI at the Exhibition Match. It will be an absolute treat for the spectators in Chandigarhand will be a fitting finale to the rigorous preparatory camps.” Continue reading →