The Fans of HockeyEventsWorld Series HockeyChennai Sports Organisers own “Chennai Cheetahs” a franchise of WSH

World Series Hockey has concluded the franchise allocation process and has announced that Chennai Sports Organisers Pvt Ltd (CSO) as the franchise owner for Chennai, which is named as “Chennai Cheetahs“. Rest of the frenchise will be announced by WSH over the next few days.

world series hockeyL T Nanwani, the Director of Chennai Sports Organisers, (also the Director and Promoter of Jubilee Granites, a leading mining company in South India that exclusively owns products like ‘Black’ and ‘Black Galaxy’ granite), said  “It is a matter of great pride to own a franchise in the prestigious World Series Hockey. Chennai has always had a strong sports culture and we are committed to strengthen the talent pool of hockey players. Extensive research has revealed that speed is a key attribute of the sport and hence our team is going to be aptly called Chennai Cheetahs”
“India has a strong hockey legacy and we will strive towards bringing the glory back. This is the first step for CSO and in the near future, we will expand our sports business by investing in multiple sports to create greater local connect with the fans”, he added.

Yannick Colaco, COO, Nimbus Sport said – “WSH has been very selective in identifying franchise owners who are passionate about hockey and share the common vision of creating a strong and viable ecosystem for the sport in India. We are delighted to welcome Mr. Nanwani to the WSH family. His deep rooted understanding of the local Chennai market coupled with his keen interest in hockey will definitely create a strong fan base in the catchment area.”

The WSH will be held from December 17, 2011 to January 22, 2012 and will involve 200 leading players — Indian and international — who will showcase their talent in 61 matches. It will be a multi-city franchise-based League with players being allocated to the teams based on the internationally accepted and practised ‘draft’ system.
The inaugural edition of the league will comprise eight teams out of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Chandigarh, Pune, Bhopal, Punjab, Ranchi and Rourkela.
Hockey players, for the first time, will have a global platform to exhibit their skills for which they will be financially rewarded. The legacy created by the planned upgrading of infrastructure across the country will benefit hockey for generations to come.

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Chennai Sports Organisers own “Chennai Cheetahs” a franchise of WSH — 1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Pune Strykers joins World Series Hockey: ‘SGSEPL’ acquires Pune Franchise | The Fans of Hockey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *