The Fans of HockeyDomestic HockeyHaryana are National Champions

Mandeep Antil (file photo)

Haryana overcame stiff Karnataka to win 2-1 in the final of the senior national hockey championship in a thrilling final  at the Aishbagh Stadium, Bhopal. Sandeep Singh converted a penalty corner in the 13th minute to take the lead for Haryana and V.R. Raghunath scored equaliser for Karnataka through drag flick in the 40th minute. Mandeep Anil struck the winner for Hayana with a brilliant reverse hit in the 52nd minute.

The Karnataka defender V.R. Raghunath went past Haryana’s Sandeep Singh as the tournament’s top scorer with 12 goals while Sandeep finished with 11, in the contest between two highly-rated drag flickers.

Prabhdeep Singh scored two goals, Baljinder Singh and Akashdeep Singh found the target once, as Punjab defeated Jharkhand 4-1 to finish third, while Bikash Toppo was the lone scorer for Jharkhand.

Final Standings and Special Prizes:
National Championship Winner: Haryana
Runners up: Karnataka
3rd Place: Punjab
4th Place: Jharkhand
Best goalkeeper: Bharat Chetri
Best defender:Sardara Singh
Best midfielder :Ravi Pal
Best attacker: Roshan Minz
Player of tournament : SK Uthappa
Fair Play Award: MP Hockey Academy
Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Haryana are National Champions — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *