The Fans of HockeyEventsAzlan Shah CupArjun Halappa to don Captain’s Arm Band

Senior most member of the Indian team Arjun Halappa finally gets the chance to wear the Captain’s Arm Band, he has been named captain for the forthcoming Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to be held from 5th to 15th May, 2011. He was the captain of India A in 2004 and he is the most capped player of the current team (with 223 caps). He has played under captaincy of very junior players but never complained. Hope he will lead the Indian team to glory as he does in the mid-field during the game.

Arjun Halappa

Arjun Halappa

Brief Profile of Arjun Halappa Son of former East Bengal Hockey Club player B.K. Halappa, Arjun joined the Centre of Excellence in 1998. Hails from Coorg. Played his first Senior Nationals at Hyderabad next year and was picked among the 72 probables for a conditioning camp. Made his Jr.internl debut in the Europe tour same year under coaches C.R. Kumar and Harendera. Posted eight goals in the 2000 Junior Asia Cup, including a brace in the semis. Scored vital goals at Hobart Jr. World Cup before earning senior spurs in coach Cedric D’Souza’s regime as a part of title winning Dhaka Prime Minister Gold Cup team. Since then cemented his place in the senior side.

Captained India for the Prince Taekemada Cup (Gifu, Japan) in 2004. Led Bangalore Lions to PHL titles. After brief stint in Canara Bank, joined Indian Airlines in 2002 after figuring in the KL World Cup.

45 Probables for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011 (source

Two of the past stars, William Xalxo and SV Sunil – both missed various assignments due to injury  are back in the main stream of Indian hockey and found their name smaller list of probables for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2011.

Hockey India Selectors Col. Balbir Singh, B.P. Govinda, Syed Ali, Thoiba Singh and A.B. Subbaiah besides Government Observers Harbinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey selected the 45 probables:


Bharat Kumar Chetri – Canara Bank
Adrian D’Souza – Air India
P.R. Sreejesh – Indian Overseas Bank
Gurpreet Singh – Air India
P. Naveen Kumar – Tamil Nadu


Diwakar Ram – ONGC
Dhananjay Mahadik – Services
Rupinderpal Singh – Indian Overseas Bank
William Xalxo – Bharat Petroleum
V. Raghunath – Indian Oil
Amit Prabhakar – Uttar Pradesh
Gurjinder Singh – Chandigarh
Sunil Yadav – Uttar Pradesh


Gurbaj Singh – Air India
Vikram Pillay – Air India
Ravi Pal – Bharat Petroleum
Vikas Pillay – Air India
Varinderjit Singh – Border Security Force
Birendra Lakra (Jr.) – Bharat Petroleum
V.S. Vinaya – Air India
Preetinder Singh – ONGC
Vikram Kant – Indian Oil
Ajitesh Roy – Punjab National Bank
Vikas Sharma – Indian Oil
Kothajit Singh – Indian Oil
Amardeep Ekka – Indian Overseas Bank
Rajesh Kumar – Services
Vikas Choudhary – ONGC


Tushar Khandker – Bharat Petroleum
Shivendra Singh – Air India
Rajpal Singh – Indian Oil
Arjun Halappa – Air India
Roshan Minz – Indian Oil
Gurwinder Singh Chandi – ONGC
Mohd. Amir Khan – Air India
S.V. Sunil – Services
Mandeep Antil – ONGC
Danish Mujtaba – UP
Sarvanjeet Singh – Punjab & Sind Bank
Prabhdeep Singh – Chandigarh
Shashi Topno – Railways
Chinglensana – Railways
Hari Prasad – Bharat Petroleum
Bikas Toppo – ONGC
S. Arumugam – Services

Follow The Fans of Hockey on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and RSS.


Loading Facebook Comments ...


Arjun Halappa to don Captain’s Arm Band — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *