Army XI and IOCL make to semis in CM Cup, Bangalore

Eliazer Lakra and Prabhjot Singh scored two goals for Army XI and IOCL respectively in their victory. Army XI won against ONGC 4-2 and IOCL thrashed local team DYSS Karnataka 5-1.

Indian Oil and Army XI, the semi-finalist from Group A will meet each other Wednesday to decide the group toppers. Group B might need to wait till Thursday for semi-finalist if today, Indian Railways upset tournament favourite Air India and Odisha Stars beat BPCL.


Army XI 4 (Ignace Tirkey 5′, Eliazer Lakra 29′ & 37′, Jerum Kujur 52′)
ONGC 2 (Dharmender 57′, Pramod Kumar 69′)

IOCL 5 (Inderjit Chadda 31′, Prabhjot Singh 37′ & 51′, Deepak Thakur 44′, Arjun Anjit 53′)
DYSS Karnataka 1 (Aiyappa 50′).

Tuesday’s matches: BPCL vs Odisha Stars 5pm; Air India vs Indian Railways 7.30pm

Met Dilip Tirkey during CM Cup at Bangalore

I am feeling proud to share with you all that I watched playing two Indian Hockey legends Dhanraj Pillay and Dilip Tirkey in CM Cup which is being organised by Karnataka Government as an inaugural tournament of newly laid turf at Shantinagar Hockey Stadium, Bangalore.

I watched the match between Air India (Dhanraj’s Team) and Odisha Stars (Dilip’s Team). The Air India which is full of stars like Dhanraj Pillay, Sandeep Michael, Len Aiyappa, Adrian D’Souza, etc. won the match with score of 3-0. The local star Sandeep Micheal scored a brace in 23rd and 29th minutes and Sameer Dad scored another goal in 31st minute of the match.

Local boy Amar Aiyamma stole the show with a hat-trick in Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited’s (BPCL) 3-1 win over Indian Railways in the other match of the day. Amar scored for BPCL in 17th (PC), 31st and 51st minute of the game. The lone goal for Indian Railways was scored by Deepak Ekka in 48th minute.

Some photographs from the match:

CM Cup, Bangalore

About CM Cup

The Karnataka government inaugurated the newly laid synthetic hockey surface at the Shantinagar Hockey Stadium, Bangalore by organising the Chief Minister Cup with record prize and participating money.

The new gala event is organised by an committee, which had been constituted by the Government of Karnataka. Gulihatti D. Shekar, Hon’ble Minister for Textiles Youth Services and Sports as Chairman and I.M.Vittala Murthy, Secretary, Youth Services & Sports(Vice Chairman); Shivananjaiah Director, Youth Services & Sports; Dr. G.Kishore, Director, S.A.I.; R.K.Shetty; Sri.K.Krishnamurthy; Ashish Ballal, Olympian; A.B.Subbaiah, Olympian; and Dr.M.P.Ganesh, Olympian are the members.

The top eight teams of the country are invited to play this great tournament, which are, Army XI; Indian Railways, Orissa star, Indian Oil, Air India, and DYSS-Karnataka.

The winners will get a cash prize of Rs.6,00,000 while Runner ups will get Rs.4,00,000, and Rs.2,00,000 for 3rd Place and Rs.1,00,000 for 4th place. In addition to the above, each team will be given an appearance money of Rs.1,25,000.

The DYSS, Karnataka team is being prepared under the leadership of Ashish Ballal, Olympian and Head Coach.

Armt XI thrashed home team DYSS, Karnataka 4-1

Army XI : 4 (Sunil Ekka-11′, Chitaranjan Singh-17′ & 36′, Mukesh Lakra-66′)
DYSS, Karnataka : 1 (Nithin Thimmaiah-16′)

IOCL beat ONGC 3-1

IOCL : 3 (Prabhjot Singh-1′, Gaurav-6′, Deepak Thakur-40′)
ONGC : 1 (Dharmender-47′)

Schedule of Sunday (June 13, 2010)
BPCL Vs Indian Railways at 5:00PM, Odisha Stars Vs Air India at 7:30PM

Source: TOI,

Improve basics says legendary Dilip Tirkey

“We fail to analyse the games as perfectly as the other teams in the world do. Moreover we lack in basics and have to improve the technical shortcomings. We possess the skills but we are still slow and have to be quicker in tackling the opponents,” said legendary Dilip Tirkey (former Indian captain), who has played more than 400 international matches for India (perhaps second player in the world to do so).

According to Tirkey, ” We are able to match them on few occasions but lack the consistency. The percentage of the penalty corner conversion is still low and we lose the ball quite frequently which adds to the pressure.” Continue reading →

New Schedule of Canada-India Cup 2010 (women's)

As per the new schedule of Canada-India Cup 2010, the first two games previously scheduled on June 12th and 13th at the UBC have been cancelled. The games in surrey will be played as per earlier schedule. Then, fourth game will be played at University of British Columbia, Wright Field on Sunday, June 20th at 4:00pm. Thus the series is reduced to four games from five games as it was planned earlier.

Match Schedule of four match series (June 15-20, 2010)

Date Time Location
June 15, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 17, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 19, 2010 7:00 pm Surrey Tamanawis Park
June 20, 2010 4:00 pm Vancouver UBC – Wright Field

Baljit Singh … the best Indian Hockey Goalie ever…

Baljit Singh made his international debut as Goalkeeper at the Junior level in 2000 in a 4-nation tournament in Poland. During 1993 Under 15 pre Nehru Cup, he had to do goal keeping as his team’s frontline goal keeper was injured. Since then he has been enjoying his role as goalie and achieving mile stones one after another. Dadwal is a product of the SD College, Sector-32 Chandigarh. He is the only player who has played 3 finals out of four PHL (Premier Hockey League). He used to play for Chandigarh Dynmos in PHL. He is 2007 Asia Cup and 2009 Azlan Shah Cup Gold medalist.

He is a very good person from heart and good personalilty

In July 2009, he got a severe blow on his career because of a severe eye injury during a practice session. Hope, he come backs strongly like his team mate Sandeep Singh.

May God bless him. Get well soon. We wish to see you soon guarding Indian goal post 🙂

Get well soon 🙂

Baljit’s interview with Mid-Day

His fans community at orkut: