Indian eves finish 3rd in four nations tournament in Germany…

Indian women’s national hockey team played a draw against Germany, lost to Aussies and beat Ireland to finish third in round robin format tournament played at Essen in Germany from 25 June to 27 June 2010.

Indian eves went in break with 0-2 deficit but recovered remarkably against world number four and hosts Germany in their first match of the tournament. Rosalin Ralte, Rani Rampal and skipper Surinder Kaur scored for India. The hosts opened account in 12th minute from a penalty conversion by Tina Bachmann. Experienced Natascha Keller increase the lead in 24th minute for the hosts. Roselin Ralte scored for India in 3rd minute after break. Lydia Hasse made it 3-1 for Germany in the 51st minute, but India kept on fighting till the end. 15 years old Rani Ramphal scored from a penalty corner in 63 minute and in the last moments skipper Surinder Kaur successfully found the equaliser. Continue reading →

IOCL lifts CM Cup, Army runners up

CM Cup Standings
2. Army XI
4. Air India

Experienced IOCL won the CM Cup who beat Army XI by 3-2 in finals on 20 June at KSHA Hockey Stadium, Shantinagar (Bangalore).
Former Indian captain Ignace Tirkey played a wonderful game for Army , but Indian Oil (IOCL) game plan proved better to win the match and CM Cup.
Hamza Mujtaba (47, 55) scored a brace for IOCL and Ramandeep Singh scored the 3rd goal for IOCL. It was the Army who took lead in the game through Sunil Ekka in 36th minute and he pulled one back in 66th minute.
BPCL beat Air India 3-2 to finish third. Karmit Singh (14, 65) scored a brace and Sher Singh scored the other goal in the 39th minute for BPCL. M Minz (27) and Sandeep Michael (31) scored for Air India.

Some more pics at

India win the series 2-0 against Canada

India won the India-Canada Cup 2010, which was played in Canada from June 15 to June 20. Indian women’s clinched the 4 match series by wining the 1st and 3rd match while other two matches were drawn.

The results were as following:
First Test: 3-2
Second Test: 1-1
Third Test: 4-1
Fourth Test: 2-2

India will now visit Germany to feature in the Four-Nations tournament at Essen from June 25-27. The other teams in the field are Germany, Australia and Ireland. It will be good learning tournament before WC 2010, which will be played in Argentina from August 29 to September 11.

For more details and photographs please visit

Army XI beat Air India in the semi-final of CM Cup via tie breaker

It was great atmosphere at KSHA Hockey Stadium, Shantinagar (Bangalore)  in the semi-finals of the CM Cup 2010 which is being organized by Karnataka State Government.

Army XI and IOCL will be playing for the title tomorrow at 7:00 PM, which has includes cash prize of Rs 6 Lacs for the winners. IOCL beat BPCL 3-2 to reach the finals.

It was the game of nerve holding between Air India and Army XI, where Army XI showed the coolness and snatched the game from Air India who were leading 2-1 at half and had scored in the 2nd minute of the game. Army came back strongly in second half to level the game in stipulated time at 3-3. I think Air India tried to push the game to penalty strokes to have advantage of experienced goalie Adrian D’Souza but that was not good for Air India, Army XI goalie stopped a stroke of experienced V.S. Vinaya who has represented India in the past and won the match for Army. He had brilliant second half when saved many attempts from Air India.

Another blog on the day with more photographs by Mr. Shashank Gupta who is very active in promotion of hockey through One Thousand Hockey Legs:

Here are the some photos from the match (Wish I had an SLR with me 🙁 )

Senior National Hockey tournament in Bhopal

Once again a good news for Hockey Lovers 🙂

50 Teams would be participating at Senior National Hockey Tournament.

The love of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan towards Hockey has given another chance for the hockey lovers to watch this tournament in July in Bhopal.

Chennai Hyderabad, Mumbai, Bangalore, Harayana and Chandigarh had put their bid to organise the tournament at the General meeting at Indian Hockey Federation. But
Sports and Cultural Youth Bhopal has won the bid to organise the tournament.

After the announcement by Sanjay Chowdary, Sports Director, there was a atmosphere of joy in the citizens of Bhopal. After successfully organising All India Obaidullah Cup and Women’s Hockey tournament at Aishbagh stadium with Astro Turf, now Senior National Hockey Tournament would be organised in which 50 teams throughout the country would be participating.

Olympian Sameer Dad Jallauddin Rizvi, Enam Ur Rehman welcomed the decision and said that it will encourage Hockey in the state. After 1975, this tournament is again going to be organised in the Capital.

Sandeep in, Shiva and Arjun rested

The 22 member hockey squad was selected from the ongoing national camp at Balewadi Sports Complex, Pune. The team, to be led by forward Rajpal Singh, will play a series of three Tests against Belgium from July 5 to July 16 and after that, another three-match series against France. The team will wind up the tour with two Tests against the European champions Dutch on July 24 and 25.
“The squad will compete in the Four Nation Hamburg Masters Tournament in Germany against the Netherlands, Japan and the hosts from July 2-4 followed by a Test series in Belgium, France and Holland,” Hockey India said in a statement.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Sreejesh PR, Bharat Chetri.

Defenders: Sardar Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Rupinder Pal Singh, Sandeep Singh, Amit Prabhakar.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Ravi Pal, Prabodh Tirkey, Ajitesh Roy, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Vikas Pillay, Birendra Lakra Jr.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh (Captain), Tushar Khandker, Sarvanjit Singh, Mandip Antil, Mohd. Amir Khan, Hari Prasad, Dharamvir Singh.

Officials: Jose Brasa (Foreign Coach), Harendra Singh (National Coach), Clarence Lobo (Coach), Jugraj Singh (Coach), Pradip Dutta (Trainer), Lt. Col. BK Nayak (Doctor), Shrikant Iyengar (Physio), Ram Kishan Bansiwal (Masseur), Raj Kumar Kakati (Manager).